Skip to main content

Clippings File Subject Guide for the Stock Car Racing Collection: Overview

Distance Education Services

Distance Education students have access to the full array of Library resources and services. See the Distance Education library guide for details.

Subjects in the Stock Car Racing Collection Clippings File

What is in the clippings file?

Most racing newspapers and magazines are not covered in the databases available through the Library that index magazines, journals, and newspapers. The Stock Car Racing Collection maintains a clippings file containing photocopies of selected articles from racing periodicals for more than 1500 subjects. The files are not comprehensive, but will help you get started researching a topic. 

This Clippings File Guide is a list of all the subjects included in the Stock Car Racing Collection clippings file. It also offers suggestions for additional subjects to check. Examples:

  • Scholarships. SEE Education Programs

This tells you not to look for a folder named Scholarships. Look for one named Education Programs instead.

  • Staley, Enoch. SEE ALSO North Wilkesboro Speedway

This tells you that there is a folder named Staley, Enoch. More information on Enoch Staley can be found in a folder named North Wilkesboro Speedway.

Can I check these clippings out of the Library?

Items in the clippings file can not be checked out, but can be photocopied or scanned.

Other sources of information should also be examined. For suggestions, go the the Stock Car Racing Collection Research Guide.

Subject Guide

Suzanne Wise's picture
Suzanne Wise
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: 828-262-2798

Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection; Bibliographer for the departments of Communication, Computer Science, and Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment