This is the "Overview" page of the "Stock Car Racing Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Stock Car Racing Guide  

Research guide for stock car racing topics.
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.appstate.edu/stockcar Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Plagiarism?

The Appalachian State University Academic Integrity Code defines plagiarism as "presenting the words or ideas of another as one's own work or ideas."

 

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

 

Distance Education Services

Distance Education students have access to the full array of Belk Library and Information Commons resources and services. 

Click here to learn more. Distance Learning Services

 

How to Find Library Resources about Stock Car Racing

 

The Appalachian State University Library Stock Car Racing Collection is one of the most comprehensive repositories of material on the sport available to the public. This Guide is intended to help you begin your research. Also take a look at the Stock Car Racing Collection web page or contact the Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection (see the box to the right) for further assistance.

Books and More

The Library catalog provides access to materials available locally as well as throughout the country, and is a good starting point for research. The Library catalog also has a list of indexes and databases by subject that will help you identify sources beyond this guide to investigate for articles, statistics, and more.

Search Appsearch to find books, recommended web sites, films, government publications, and outher sources of information on your topic, as well as articles from a pre-selected group of databases. You can refine your search by limiting the results. For instance, you can limit to recent publications or to web sites only. Use the options along each side of the list.

Use the Classic Catalog search below Appsearch to eliminate the magazine/journal articles and retrieve only books, movies, etc., in the Library's collection.

WorldCat

WorldCat lists the holdings of libraries around the world. You can limit the result by year, format, or other factors to tighten up your search.

You can find books, dvds, music, and more on your topic by using library catalogs.

Magazine, Newspaper, and Journal Articles

 

Articles published in racing magazines and newspapers are not usually indexed in periodical indexes. The Stock Car Racing Collection maintains a clippings file of material on more than 1500 subjects. Click HERE to see the list of topics in the clippings file. You can also browse through the issues of racing periodicals in the Stock Car Racing Collection.

Find articles on racing that appear in general periodicals, such as Newsweek, the Wall Street Journal, and Fortune, by looking for your topic in such databases as Academic Search Premier and Business Complete. You can search several general databases at once by going to the Library catalog and selecting the Articles Only option.

Additional recommended databases are listed on these Library Guides:

General Databases

Business

News

 

 

Your Library Guide Author

Profile Image
Suzanne Wise
Contact Info
Belk Library & Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: (828) 262-2798
Send Email
 

Belk Library and Information Commons

218 College Street • PO Box 32026 • Boone, NC 28608

Phone: 828.262.2186

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip