Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

Customer Journey Mapping Project: Scenario No. 4

Core Service-Find a full-text article using the library resources

Scenario No. 4: 

 

You are charged with researching wind turbines in the Appalachian mountain region. Use the library resources to find a full-text article on this topic.

 

Action Plan

Recommendations for Improvement:

Basic/Practical(easily and quickly implemented)

  • Add SEARCH HELP to the database page e.g. Guide on the Side: Update-
    • soon we will be trying out ‘proactive’ chatting on the main Article Databases and E-Research Tools page. This means that after 17 seconds on that page, a chat will appear asking students if they need help-Completed-September 2014
    • Video entitled How to Choose a Database was created and added to the Article Databases and E-Research Tools page.-Completed-April, 2015.
  • Highlight general databases-with a note: If you are unsure, start your search here-New Appsearch tabbed search box on home page addresses this issue.Completed July 2015
  • Add Chat box to database page in place of New and trial databases; Make priority on HELP in the right-hand column: Update-
    • soon we will be trying out ‘proactive’ chatting on the main Articles Databases and E-Research Tools page. This means that after 17 seconds on that page, a chat will appear asking students if they need help-Completed-September 2014
  • Create a library guide with search tips and provide a link to guide from the database page-Completed: October  2015
  • We have decided to change this one.  Instead:
  • Remove BrowZine and Zotero links under Help  heading. 
  • Add  this heading: Search Tips
  • Move the How to choose a Database video link and put it under the Search Tips heading.
  • Include a link to the video entitled Searching the library databases: an introduction and put it under Search Tips heading. 

Higher Level (enhancements implemented over a longer period)

  • Re-design database page- make page more user friendly- need to offer different types of help, include point of need help-conduct usability study:Update-
    • soon we will be trying out ‘proactive’ chatting on the main Articles Databases and E-Research Tools page. This means that after 17 seconds on that page, a chat will appear asking students if they need help-Completed-September 2014

 

Interpretation Tables

Number

Task

Completion

Touch Points

Ideas/

Suggestions

Pain Points

Emotions

Moments

of

Truth

1

Completed

●Computer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Database

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Shelves

●Bound journal

 

 

 

 

 

●Have search help for best database

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Angry

 

●Waiting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Angry

 

●Waiting

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Relief

 

 

Student became frustrated when trying to select a relevant database for the topic, but found the library databases page w/o any problem

 

●Decided to try Environmental Science

2

Completed

●Computer

 

 

 

●Database

 

 

●Online article

 

 

 

 

●Couldhave used Classic search. And use the AND method. I was very preoccupied at the search guide thing

 

●Failed log-in

 

●Confused

 

 

 

●Worried

●Apprehnsive

 

 

 

 

●Gave up on Databases because could not decide on the best subject from the database by subject page

●Tried Google Scholar

3

Failed

●Computer

 

 

 

 

APPsearch

 

●Special Collections database

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Special Collections results should come up in AppSearch

●Why are Special Collections listed as a separate database?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Confused

 

 

 

 

 

 

●Confused

●Apprehensive

Student  needed help-did not seek help virtually or f2f

Library databases are not easy to use

 

There are no easy ways to get help from APPsearch or the main database page.

 

4

●completed

●computer

●Library webpage

●database

●staff (Circ Desk)

●librarian Ref Desk)

●database

 

●Show better where to get which help.

 

●confused

●angry

●wit’s end

●surprised

●thinking

 

 

●happy

 

●confused

●angry

●wit’s end

●surprised

 

 

 

●happy

Student was confused about what to do because the first database searched yielded 0 results

 

 

Student did not know which service desk to go to

 

 

 

 

●asked found help at the reference desk and

●learned how to find a relevant database and find an article

Bridge Strategic Plan connections

Library Bridge Strategic Plan 2013-2015

Learning Objective 2.1; Effectiveness Objective 5

Coordinator of Access & Public Services

Profile Photo
Ken Johnson
Contact:
Coordinator of Access & Public Services
Appalachian State University
Belk Library & Information Commons
ASU Box 3206 Boone, NC 28608
828 262-2776
Website