Gale in Context combines biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands of images, and links to vetted websites.
A comprehensive database of biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor---based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
Coverage: Current and retrospective
Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Includes access to the Britannica encyclopedia, atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, multimedia, and more.
You can also use Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors, and access articles selected by the editors. This provides access to the online academic edition of Britannica. Coverage: 1998-present
Provides access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics.
The 98th editon provides useful data include the periodic table of elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information.
Includes seven reference titles from CQ Press: Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents Series; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; Supreme Court Yearbook; Vital Statistics on American Politics; and the Washington Information Directory.
Covers nearly 60 years of the events, trends, and controversies in the U.S. Congress and the presidency; the most important primary source documents from the last three decades; current, in-depth political information on more than 200 countries; unbiased profiles and assessments of every member of the U.S. Congress, including key votes, interest-group ratings, election results, state and district information; sixteen years of expert coverage of the U.S. Supreme Court, including case summaries of every opinion during each court term; over 10,000 current contacts in federal, congressional, and state government offices, nongovernmental organizations, policy groups, and foundations; and key data on U.S. elections, the U.S. Congress, the presidency, the Supreme Court, public opinion, and more.
Contains full text for 31,098 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, nearly 140,000 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), more than 430 literary journals, more than 605,000 book reviews, more than 60,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 15,000 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 5,200 author interviews, and more than 7,100 classic texts.
Literary Reference Center provides users with information from reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing, on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume The Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years. Includes more than 20,000 artists biographies and thousands of images of painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, photography and the decorative arts. Also includes the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Covers every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
Alternate Name: Grove Dictionary of Art
Each handbook from Oxford University Press takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Handbooks are available in four subject modules: Business & Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.
With Grove Music Online as it's cornerstone, Oxford Music Online contains more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world on all aspects of music. Included are links to images, written music samples, digital sound, and related Web sites. Also included is access to the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.