Encyclopedias Online: Environmental Sciences

Introduces students to issues surrounding current energy sources and alternative energy options.

Experts around the world provide authoritative coverage of the growing body of knowledge about ways to restore the planet. Focused on solutions, this interdisciplinary online publication draws from the natural, physical, and social sciences, geophysics, engineering, and resource management, and from philosophy and religion.

Each entry features numerous cross references and definitions of weather and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study

The Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste explores the topic across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and ranges further to include business, consumerism, environmentalism, and marketing.

Publication Date: 2008-10-15
The essays cover a broad range of topics within environmental philosophy and ethics, including, to name a few. agrarianism, alternative technologies, animal ethics, Wendell Berry, Buddhism, coral bleaching, deserts and desertification, environmental citizenship, economic discounting, and the Gaia hypothesis.

The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.

Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.

The nearly 750 entries in this 3-volume encyclopedia cover a vast range of topics affecting global warming and climate change.

This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.

'Green Atlas', an online-only compendium of 100 maps and data sets accompanied by multimedia elements designed to illustrate key concepts in green issues and environmentalism graphically and interactively.

Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment.

Explores the on-going paradigm shift in culture and lifestyles toward promoting a sustainable environment.

Provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green-energy economy.

Explores the essential role of technology and its most recent developments toward a sustainable environment.

Guide to U.S. Environmental Policy provides the analytical connections showing readers how issues and actions are translated into public policies and persistent institutions for resolving or managing environmental conflict in the U.S.

Provides information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources of pollution; disposal; remediation; and the ethical, social and legal environment, as well as topics such as acid rain, cancer, noise pollution and zero growth population.