For an audience of general readers and students, the set seeks to survey the events and people in these two countries from 1950 through 1959. Among the 640 entries are essays that cover the topic with 300 words and much broader topics that require 3,000 to 5,000 words.

The Sixties in America, surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States.

Watergate, the Vietnam War, the environmental movement, the energy crisis, the women's movement, disco. The Seventies in America brings this decade to life by examining these topics and many more

The Eighties in America covers arts and literature, business and economics, crime and punishment, disasters, education, environmental issues, film and television, health and medical issues, international relations, journalism, military and war, politics and government, popular culture, popular music, religion and spirituality, science and technology, sexuality, social issues, sports, and transportation.

The 150 individuals profiled in this encyclopedia represent diverse ethnic, racial, and religious backgrounds, as well as various movements and ideologies.

Now in its second edition (the first was published in 1993), this three-volume reference is vibrant with stories of remarkable women--325 biographies--and discussion of topics pertaining to arts, culture, family, gender, law, occupations, politics, religion, science, and sports.

This remarkable work traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape.

In nearly seven hundred entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period—from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass—and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.

Includes more than 1,200 entries, this encyclopedia provides an overview of the subject, from the Colonial wars through the events of September 11, 2001. Entries include individuals; overviews of the causes, courses, and effects of American wars; and key technological inventions and weapons systems.

This encyclopedia approaches the rise of urban areas in America from a variety of disciplinary perspectives, including economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology.

the 700 original articles in the Encyclopedia cover the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.

This comprehensive survey of the spread of individuals and groups across the trans--Mississippi West contains coverage of individuals, groups, places, events, policies, and other topics.

The Encyclopedia of Right-Wing Extremism in Modern American History provides useful, authoritative information about these groups and their histories, covering conservative extremism from the 1930s onward, such as white supremacist groups and neo-Nazis, Christian Identity and other right-wing religious movements, and anti-American government extremists.

An award-winning and highly recommended comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War.

This comprehensive ready-reference encyclopedia of the history, people, events, places, movements, and issues of the Antebellum South is ideal for student use.

Covers the history of the U.S. government's approach to environmental policy.

Now in its second edition, this comprehensive study of the Vietnam War sheds more light on the longest and one of the most controversial conflicts in U.S. history.

The U.S. Encyclopedia of Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral focuses on American campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior, but entries, especially those written by foreign scholars, also provide a culturally and politically diverse perspective of American democratic practices and institutions.

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History explores the events, policies, activities, institutions, groups, people, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States.

Topics explored include the clubwomen's movement, politics, prostitution, women homesteaders, suffrage, mining, agriculture, rodeo women, literary women, conservation, emigrant experiences, librarians, and research strategies locating primary and secondary resources.

From sartorial fashions to William Faulkner's Sartoris, this volume documents southern culture in its many colors and forms. Includes the region spanning from Atlantic coastal ecosystems to the Ozark Mountains to the Gulf of Mexico.

How Americans feel about guns is usually determined by personal experience rather than research results, observes sociologist Gregg Lee Carter. His goal in compiling Guns in American Society, the most comprehensive single source of information on the gun issue, is to help readers educate themselves.

Combining full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary, Milestone Documents in American History offers more than 133 iconic documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History brings together in one two-volume set the record of the nation's values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History offers both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States.

The more than 450 entries in this work examine our shared history "from the bottom up," with entries on the way automobiles shaped American lives, the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, the transformation of work over time, the women's suffrage movement, counterculture, and much more.

Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

This volume fills a gap in traditional women's history books by offering fascinating details of the lives of early American women and showing how these women adapted to the challenges of daily life in the colonies.

This is the first encyclopedia to focus on the material culture of slaves in the United States. It covers everyday lives of the enslaved: what they wore, saw, and looked at; played and played with; ate and drank and smoked; worked on and in; heard, read, used, made, touched, hid away, lived in, built, were given, slept on, carried, raised, and cultivated; were sold on; and much more.

Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.

The NEW PAULY is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.

Covering the "long" Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, this encyclopedia contains 700 fully searchable articles. Coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.

A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

Through its fluent global coverage, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.

From Antarctica to the North Pole, The Oxford Companion to World Exploration offers information on all topics of exploration worldwide, including advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age.

This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.

Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.

Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.

From the Viking invasions to the Crusades to the Hundred Years’ War, wars were crucial agents of change in medieval Europe. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures covers such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region. Articles range from 500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals.

With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.