Each World Literature and Its Times volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country or region, presenting approximately 50 works in detailed essays running approximately 10 pages.

Three volumes focusing on African-American (and some African and Caribbean) writers and works published since 1950. It includes coverage of 80 writers whose works are considered canon and have therefore been subjected to major critiques, as well as writers who have appeared in major anthologies and encyclopedias of African American literature.

Each World Literature and Its Times volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country or region, presenting approximately 50 works in detailed essays running approximately 10 pages.

Each World Literature and Its Times volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country or region, presenting approximately 50 works in detailed essays running approximately 10 pages.

The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: The United States, Great Britain, Canada, continental Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators.

Called the "best overall literary reference work ever published" by Library Journal, the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) series provides readers with more than 14,656 comprehensive literary biographies of authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.

Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

Each World Literature and Its Times volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country or region, presenting approximately 50 works in detailed essays running approximately 10 pages.

Each World Literature and Its Times volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country or region, presenting approximately 50 works in detailed essays running approximately 10 pages.

Each World Literature and Its Times volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country or region, presenting approximately 50 works in detailed essays running approximately 10 pages.

The terms "British" and "literature" of the title have been interpreted so that authors, songwriters (the Beatles), playwrights, and poets throughout the British Isles are included--Robert Burns, Seamus Heaney, James Joyce, and Jonathan Swift among them--when their writings have provided exceptional influence on writing in England.

Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.

Each World Literature and Its Times volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country or region, presenting approximately 50 works in detailed essays running approximately 10 pages.

Contains entries on topics in Asian American literature, including writers, special topics, events, and terms. Covers literature by North American writers of Asian descent from the late 1890s to 2007, within a variety of contexts

The Companion includes entries on 150 major works of African American literature (including synopses of novels), from Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Richard Wright's Native Son, to Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun; on literary characters and character types; on icons of black culture, and much more.

Provides brief biographies of more than 300 authors and illustrators, as well as essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, including general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.