Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian History: Manuscripts and Archives

A guide to primary sources for the history of Appalachian region.

Manuscript and Archival Collections in Special Collections

Manuscript Collections in the W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection

Search Collections

Browse Collections

The W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection contains over 400 publicly available manuscript collections with subjects ranging from 19th century land speculation to general store records. Manuscript collection subjects are also searchable within the Library catalog.

 

Archival Collections in the University Archives

Search Collections

Browse Collections

The archives of Appalachian State University record our local history of higher education in Appalachia.  Finding aids for the collection are available through the above link "Browse List of Collections."

 

Stock Car Racing Guides to Primary Source Collections

 

Search Libraries Worldwide

WorldCat
WorldCat is universal in subject scope and includes records for over 95 million items held in thousands of libraries throughout the United States and Europe.  Includes manuscript and archival collections.

Regional Appalachian Archives

North Carolina

Asheville, NC

Special Collections & University Archives, University of North Carolina, Asheville

Western Regional Archives, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources

 

Chapel Hill, NC

Wilson Library. Includes Southern Historical Collection, North Carolina Collection, and Southern Folklife Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

 

Cullowhee, NC

Special and Digital Collections, Western Carolina University

 

Mars Hill, NC

Liston B. Ramsey Center for Regional Studies, Mars Hill College

 

Other Appalachian States

 

Johnson City, TN

Archives of Appalachia, East Tennessee State University

 

 

Knoxville, TN

 

Special Collections, University of Tennessee

 

 

Berea, KY

Special Collections & Archives, Berea College

 

Lexington, KY

Special Collections, University of Kentucky

 

Morgantown, WV

Appalachian Collection, West Virginia University

West Virginia and Regional History Collection and Special Collections, West Virginia University

 

Blacksburg, VA

Special Collections, Virginia Tech

 

Radford, VA

Archives and Special Collections, Radford University