Appalachian History: Newspapers

Newspaper Clippings Files

• Appalachian Collection - Newspaper Clippings Files Subject Heading Index: The clippings file is a valuable resource for articles from major papers of the southern Appalachian region, with a concentration on western North Carolina newspapers. Mostly 1980s to present.

• Stock Car Racing Collection - Newspaper Clippings Files Subject Heading Index: The clippings file contains photocopies of selected articles from racing periodicals for more than 1,500 subjects.

Regional Newspapers in the Appalachian Collection (on microformat, not indexed)

• One of the best newspaper collections for the Appalachian region exists in the Appalachian Collection. For help using microfilm or microfiche, see the main desk in Special Collections.
  

Newspaper Databases

Some newspaper databases include coverage on Appalachian region. Here are some useful starting places: 

Watauga Democrat, published in Boone, North Carolina

The Blowing Rocket, published in Blowing Rock, North Carolina

Student Newspaper: The Appalachian (1934-present)

• Print versions (1934-present) are available by appointment in Special Collections
• Digitized versions (1934-1998) are available online
• Current issues of The Appalachian are available on The Appalachian's website

University History Quick Reference Files

• Biographical and Subject Files are folders stored in filing cabinets that contain collections of pamphlets, clippings, ephemera and other small published and unpublished items on a wide range of topics related to the University's history. An appointment is required for use in Special Collections.
  • Biographical Files
  • Subject Files

Additional University Publications and Resources (Rhododendron yearbooks, Fact Books, Bulletin/Catalogs)