North Carolina Digital Collections that include Appalachian materials

• Digital NC at University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Includes Appalachian State University yearbooks and bulletins/course listings

Includes photographs of Boone from the Watauga County Public Library

• Digital Library of Appalachia, Appalachian College Association Libraries

Includes materials from over 20 Appalachian region libraries and special collections

• Digital Collections at Appalachian State University

Includes Greer and Abrams folksong collections, Appalachian State University Historical Photographs, and more

• Digital Collections at Western Carolina University

Includes Cherokee Phoenix newspaper (1828-1834), Civil War letters, Horace Kephart materials, and more

• Western North Carolina Heritage, Asheville Area History and Archives Repositories

Includes materials related to Asheville history, and covers topics such as Jewish life, Civil War, land speculation history and more

• Digital Collections at North Carolina Department of Archives and History

Includes Black Mountain College, Civil War, North Carolina newspapers and maps, photographs, tourism, Works Progress Administration in North Carolina, World War I, and more

• Digital Collections at University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Includes Documenting the American South and much more

• Digital Watauga in Boone, NC

A collaborative effort between the Watauga County Historical Society and the Watauga County Public Library. Includes many items contributed by Watauga County, NC, residents.

National Digital Collections that include Appalachian materials

• Digital Collections at Library of Congress 

 Search archival materials from the Library of Congress in numerous subject areas

• Digital Public Library of America, includes many state and institutional digitization efforts

Search across state and institutional rare book and archival collections, including Kentucky Digital Library, the University of Virginia, and the Digital Library of Georgia