Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Sciences and Disorders: Overview

Fall 2020!

Need help? I'm available: email wiswellj@, Zoom, chat, appointment, (with 6 ft. spacing) at Levine 542F or Library, wherever.   Zoom by appointment.  Email if these times don't work.

CSD Reference sources

 

Try out the Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders for your topic.  It has 2014 reviews on a wide range of CSD topics.  We have the ebook, plus one in Reference Stacks (1st floor) and one to check out ( RC423 .C24 2014, 3rd floor).

Books for CSD

Locations of books, mostly on 3rd floor in NE corner.  (But also see HV 2353 - HV 2999, in Education area on 2nd floor.)

eBooks

Finding Articles -- Databases for CSD

More ASHA and other CSD Resources

More Useful Databases for CSD

CSD Journals

You can find and access full text of each one using PubMed, CINAHL, Google Scholar or other databases.

Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools (ASHA)

CINAHL link  but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (ASHA)

CINAHL link  but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders (Springer)

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (ASHA)

CINAHL link  but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders (Elsevier)

Dysphagia (Springer)

Journal of Communication Disorders (Elsevier)

ASHA Leader (ASHA -- this one is not peer-reviewed)

International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology (Elsevier)

Autism (Sage)

Journal of Fluency Disorders (Elsevier)

Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities (Sage)

American Journal of Audiology (ASHA. We only have this on through CINAHL.)

Ear and Hearing (Ovid)

Topics in Language Disorders (Ovid)

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell   wiswellj@appstate.edu  262-7853 leave message
Available for consultations with students and faculty.
 

Getting Full Text!

Our Find@ASU button in our article databases takes you to electronic full text, if we have it. 

Find@ASU button that tries to take you to full text

Still not getting full text?  Many full text articles are available for free in some form.  If you have a distinct article title or a DOI, try a quick search in Google Scholar (and Google).  We also have ILLiad to get articles from other libraries.  NEW -- Try Unpaywall.

Primal Pictures

Anatomy imaging software.

Explaining the Cochrane databases

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews -- These are the Cochrane organization's own systematic reviews.  Full text.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials  -- Change Search Limits to Trials.  Cochrane identifies randomized, controlled trials.  Not full text.

Cochrane Collaboration

The Cochrane Library  This link only works on campus.  But access the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and click on the Cochrane Library logo.  That will take you to the journal version, which I prefer sometimes.