Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Summer 2022

I'll be traveling from June 23 until July 3rd, and I'll be on Pacific time.  Email me, but I will not be on chat and mostly not accessible in Zoom.  But I can help you a lot on email.

Need any help? Email me, wiswellj@appstat.edu.  We can meet in person, Levine or main campus, or in Zoom, if needed.  Also, consider using our chat service for quick questions.  (You can also find the chat button on left edge of main library page).

We continue to have this linking problem.  We have a problem with Find@ASU linking cleanly to some of our publishers' journal articles.  You might not notice this at all.  But you might be delivered to journal page, instead of the specific article you wanted.  This is especially a problem with journals that we only get through EBSCO, like APA's.

If this happens, the full text is available.  You'll just have to search or navigate to it.  Ask for help, if needed.

Finding Articles -- Databases for CSD

More ASHA and other CSD Resources

More Useful Databases for CSD

CSD Reference sources

 

Try out the Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders for your topic.  It has 2014 (publication year) reviews on a wide range of CSD topics.  We have the ebook, plus one in Reference Stacks (1st floor) and one to check out ( RC423 .C24 2014, 3rd floor).

CSD Journals

You can find and access full text of each one using PubMed, CINAHL, Google Scholar or other databases.

Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools (ASHA)

CINAHL link  but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (ASHA)

CINAHL link  but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders (Springer)

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (ASHA)

CINAHL link  but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders (Elsevier)

Dysphagia (Springer)

Journal of Communication Disorders (Elsevier)

ASHA Leader (ASHA -- this one is not peer-reviewed)

International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology (Elsevier)

Autism (Sage)

Journal of Fluency Disorders (Elsevier)

Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities (Sage)

American Journal of Audiology (ASHA. We only have this on through CINAHL.)

Ear and Hearing (Ovid)

Topics in Language Disorders (Ovid)

Primal Pictures

Anatomy imaging software.

Explaining the Cochrane databases

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews -- These are the Cochrane organization's own systematic reviews.  Full text.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials  -- Change Search Limits to Trials.  Cochrane identifies randomized, controlled trials.  Not full text.

Cochrane Collaboration

The Cochrane Library  This link only works on campus.  But access the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and click on the Cochrane Library logo.  That will take you to the journal version, which I prefer sometimes.