Research Guides: REL 3715: Biblical Interpretation: Recommended Databases for Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

For more information, see Information Resources from the
Library Research Tutorial.

** Instructions for ATLA Searching can be found under "Tips" of this Guide **

ATLA Religion
Citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).

Citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
Religion Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to 250 scholarly journals, with most titles available in full text, covering formal theological studies, religious history, philosophy, and ethics.

Provides access to 250 scholarly journals, with most titles available in full text, covering formal theological studies, religious history, philosophy, and ethics.
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.

Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Philosophers Index
Citations with abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy and ethics.

Citations with abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy and ethics.

Databases by Subject
Consult the complete list of databases by subject for additional options.

Anthropology Plus
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Project Muse
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.

Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Central
Multidisplinary database with access to nearly 20,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Multidisplinary database with access to nearly 20,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.

Databases by Subject
Consult the complete list of databases by subject for more options.