LibGuides: Exercise Science: Overview

Top Exercise Science Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts. The fields include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Coverage: 1950-present
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

I like APPsearch too, on the main library page.

More databases for Exercise Science

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive international content of the database is drawn from websites, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.

Sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport and fitness-related topics.

Coverage: 1900-present
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to nearly 1,200 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software. Abstracts are included for over 250 journals.
Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Collection Plus combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Methodology Register.

Cochrane Collection Plus is a source of health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession.

Coverage: Current

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database (Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy)
An Evidence Base Practice physiotherapy (aka physical therapy) database of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines. PEDro is a collaboration located in Australia and rates EBP literature in Physical Therapy. Includes links to SOME full-text articles/guidelines.

Other Science and Health Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present

PubMed Dietary Supplements Subset
The subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.

Reference Book

DeLee & Drez's orthopaedic sports medicine: principles and practice by DeLee, Jesse, David Drez, Mark D. Miller, and Stephen R. Thompson
Call Number: ASU Main Stacks RD97 .O78 2015
Publication Date: 2015
2 volumes

Recent Articles from the ASU Department of Public Health & Exercise Science

Also look at the faculty pages at phes.appstate.edu. These PubMed and Google Scholar searches will give you some false positives. (Also, be careful, if you only search on names. There are two Marco Meuccis!)

PubMed search
Google Scholar search
Dimensions search
Dimensions is not set up to link to Library full text. But if you're on campus, it will find it much of the time anyway.
NC DOCKS for Exercise Science faculty

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and theses often cover current topics or topics that have not been studied extensively.

Please refer to the Theses and Dissertations Guide to help you identify authoritative resources for finding a thesis or dissertation on your topic.

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org searches the collections of Belk Library and Information Commons and thousands more libraries around the world, including all libraries in the UNC System.
NC DOCKS This link opens in a new window
NC DOCKS is a cooperative effort to make the scholarly output of the University of North Carolina System more available to the world. Current institutional participants include Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, UNC Greensboro, UNC Pembroke, and UNC Wilmington. NC DOCKS includes many full text articles, audio recordings, dissertations, and other formats. All materials are indexed by Google and are freely available to scholars and researchers world-wide.

Coverage: Varies

Primal Pictures -- Anatomy

Both of these are now available at ANATOMY.TV . Especially see the "Functional Anatomy."

Primal Pictures: Anatomy and Physiology This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures: Anatomy and Physiology includes 19 modules on the human body with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.

Library Guides

Exercise Science: Overview

Health Sciences Librarian