Historical Photographs Online
The ASU Historical Photographs are searchable through the Digital Collections. On the search results page, limit the "Collection" to "Appalachian State University Historical Photos." This collection is also searchable through the Digital Public Library of America.
Sample searches: Aerial views, Homecoming, B.B. Dougherty.
If the digital photographs are inaccessible due to a technical problem, you may use the original photographs in Special Collections. Many of the digital photos are part of collection UA 23, University Communications Records.
Campus Maps
Browse a selection of Appalachian State University campus maps. Additional maps are available in the University Archives Subject File Collection, filed under Subject--Buildings--Maps of Campus.
Image: A detailed, black and white depiction of the university's campus with a key to finding all the academic departments and buildings from 1983.
Town of Boone Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for the town of Boone, NC, also offer views of the campus in 1928 and 1947. The "About the Collection" page provides information about the colors and other map keys.
The Appalachian Student Newspaper
The Appalachian student newspaper is online and searchable through the Digital Collections! Coverage includes 1934 - 1998, with a few gaps. See below for search directions.
How to Search:
1. Type keyword(s) into the Digital Collections search box or click here to search.
2. Filter the results by collection in the left-hand column. You can choose The Appalachian Student Newspaper to limit results to only articles in the paper.
3. Once you have your results, you can search within each result to highlight your search terms in the text. To do so, click on a result and then locate the front page of the issue in the viewer at the bottom of the page. In the top right corner of the page viewer, there is an arrow. Click on that arrow to open the document in another window. In the new window there will be a search box in the upper right-hand corner. If you search from this box, the text will be highlighted.
University News Releases
To search the University press releases from 2000 - 2014, contact us. Earlier releases are available in the University Archives in UA 23, University Communications Records.