Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Researching University History in the University Archives: App State History Tools

University History Timelines

Historical Timelines
Explore the campus timelines relating to General Events, Academic Events, Campus Buildings, and more.

Selected Secondary Sources

Blanford Barnard Dougherty, Mountain Educator by Ruby Lanier
Call Number: LA2317.D6182 L36

Publication Date: 1974

Biography of University founder B.B. Dougherty (1870-1957).
Blanford Barnard Dougherty, A Man to Match his Mountains by O. Lester Brown
Call Number: LB1927.B62 B7

Publication Date: 1963

Biography of University founder, B.B. Dougherty (1870-1957).
Mountain Educators : the Dougherty Family and the First Fifty Years of Appalachian by Doris Perry Stam
Call Number: LB1927.B62 S73 2010

Publication Date: 2010

Family history of App State founders: B.B. Dougherty, D.D. Dougherty, and Lillie Shull Dougherty.
Appalachian State University by Pamela Price Mitchem
Call Number: LD173 .M58 2014

Publication Date: 2014

Pictorial history of Appalachian State University. The majority of photographs come from the University Archives.
Appalachian State University: The First Hundred Years by Jack Mellot, Mike Rominger, Charles Shoffner, Ruth Douglas Currie
Call Number: LD175.A85 1998

Publication Date: 1998

Pictorial history of Appalachian State University for its centennial.

More useful secondary sources:

The Cratis Williams Chronicles: I Come to Boone by Cratis D. Williams; David Cratis Williams and Patricia D. Beaver, editors
Call Number: ASU SPEC APP COLL LA2317.W513 A3 2017

Publication Date: 2017

Documents Dr. Cratis D. Williams' experience coming to Boone in 1942 to work at the Appalachian Demonstration High School, part of what is now Appalachian State University.
Appalachian State University by Cratis Williams
Call Number: ASU SPEC APP COLL LD175.A40k W51

Publication Date: 1976

History of Appalachian State University to 1976.
Remembrances; Watauga Academy, Appalachian Training School, Appalachian State Normal School, Appalachian State Teachers College, Appalachian State University by William R. Dunlap and Tom Corbitt
Call Number: ASU SPEC APP COLL LD175.A4019 R4

Publication Date: 1975

History of Appalachian State University through 1975.

Fact Books

Fact Books provide statistical data about the University, starting in 1969 through 2019. Brief enrollment history starting in 1903 is also available.

Fact Book Archive

First Hundred Years Book Text

Appalachian State University : The First Hundred Years
By Ruth Douglas Currie, Ph.D.
Published 1998, University Archives, Appalachian State University

University Titles Over Time

1899-1903	Watauga Academy
1903-1925	Appalachian Training School
1925-1929	Appalachian State Normal School
1929-1967	Appalachian State Teachers College
1967-	Appalachian State University

Presidents and Chancellors

1899-1955	Blanford Barnard (B.B.) Dougherty
1955	J.D. Rankin (Interim)
1955-1969	William H. Plemmons
1969-1979	Herbert Wey (1975, Cratis Williams, Acting Chancellor)
1979-1993	John E. Thomas
1993-2003	Francis T. Borkowski
2003	Harvey Durham (Interim)
2004-2014	Kenneth Peacock
2014-2024	Sheri Everts
2024-2025	Heather Hulburt Norris (Interim)
2025-	Heather Hulburt Norris

Reference & Instruction Archivist

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

828.262.7702

Office: Belk Library 433

browningge@appstate.edu

Subjects: Appalachian Studies, Archives, History, Rare Books, Special Collections

Last Updated: Mar 24, 2025 9:58 AM
URL: https://guides.library.appstate.edu/university_history
Print Page

Subjects: Appalachian Studies, Archives, History, North Carolina, Special Collections

Tags: Appalachian State University, University Archives