Research Guides: Social Work: Overview

Best Bets for Databases

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, covering current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1,000 scholarly journal titles, with around 700 available in full text, across a wide range of social science disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field.

Books
Learn how books are organized in the library and how to search our catalog.
Articles
Suggestions on specific databases and search tips for Social Work.
Reference Sources
Find resources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries in print and online.
Web Sources
Internet resources including professional organizations.
Laws, Regulations & Agencies
Find information related to Social Work law and policy.
Statistical Sources
Find resources with data and statistics.
APA Citation
Resources for APA Citation.
Research Help & Services
Additional library resources.
After College
Resources for accessing information and data after you graduate.
Courses
Go here to find research guides for particular classes.

AppState Online students have access to the full array of Belk Library resources and services.

Librarian for Social Work -- John Wiswell email--wiswellj@appstate.edu Make an appointment.

Librarian for "distance" students -- Emma Sobszak Schell email--sobczakschellee@appstate.edu Need an appointment? Select Emma appointments.