Political Science: Intro & Background

This comprehensive resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.

Drawing together a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times: the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought.

This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles.

Covers the history of the U.S. government's approach to environmental policy.

With more than 450 entries, these two comprehensive volumes present a significant array topics of campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior.

Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States.

With over 750 entries, the Encyclopedia of United States National Security is the first single, concise reference source to provide accurate and informative answers to the many challenging questions of how, why, when, and where national security has evolved.

Assembling an outstanding team of scholars from around the world, it comprehensively explores the current state of the art in academic thinking and the current structures and processes for the administration of public policy following this period of rapid transformation and change.

This Handbook provides a comprehensive review and guide to the study, theory and practice of public policy today. Drawing contributions from leading academics and policy analysts from around the world, this Handbook illustrates the changing role of governments vis-à-vis the public and private sector and the different policy actors (national and international, governmental and non-governmental) involved in the policy making process.

The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.

The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of our approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world. The eight volumes cover every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.

Covers the most important laws and treaties enacted by the U.S. Congress and examines an entire decade of new legislation. Includes additional acts and treaties chosen for their historical significance.

Arrangement is according to themes: philosophy and theory; the failure of politics (such as violence, war, corruption); respectively--purposes, processes, and institutions of political and civic leadership; contexts (e.g. gender, race, news media, globalization); psychology (articles on personality and leadership, political correctness, toxic leadership, altruism); tasks and tools; competencies; and depictions of political and civic leadership (in films, sports, and literature, for example).

Political Handbook of the World provides updated political profiles of all of the world's countries and details the history and activities of a number of intergovernmental organizations. Each country profile provides basic facts about the country, detailed background information on the country's history, government and politics, and political parties.

The three-volume work covers each presidential campaign in depth, examining a large number of related issues ranging from the use of social media in modern presidential campaigns to negative campaign ads and key slogans used in every presidential campaign.

The Encyclopedia of Political Science serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and that highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines.

The Oxford Handbook of American Bureaucracy affords readers an uncommon overview and integration of the eclectic body of knowledge of American bureaucracy.

The SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics presents in one volume an authoritative overview of the theoretical, methodological, and substantive elements of comparative political science.