Research Guides: Political Science: International & Comparative

Library Resources for international relations

The Encyclopedia of Political Science - Ebook by CQ Press
ISBN: 1933116447
Publication Date: 2011
is multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts - e-book via Credo by Joseph R. Rudolph (Editor)
ISBN: 1610695526
Publication Date: 2015-12-07

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of world politics
- REF D419 .K87 2002

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

International encyclopedia of environmental politics
- Main Stacks GE170 .I55 2002
Encyclopedia of world political systems
- REF JF51 .D465 2000 (2 vols)
World encyclopedia of political systems & parties
- REF JF2011 .W67 1999 (3 vols)

MISC.

Ocean politics and policy : a reference handbook
- Main Stacks
Geopolitics : the geography of international relations
- Main Stacks JC319 .C62 2009
Perspectives on international relations : power, institutions, ideas
- Main Stacks JZ1305 .N34 2009

Library Electronic Resources for International Relations

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
CIAO publishes a range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research, proceedings from conferences, journals, and policy briefs.
Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language resources for a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. These sites are recommended for regular research use, and are carefully selected for their cost-free, authoritative, and reliable information and analysis.

Finding Articles for International Relations

Use these databases available through ASU Library subscription for the most thorough search for articles. If off-campus, you will be prompted for your name and Banner ID number before passing through to the database. You may need to check other databases as well depending on your topic.

Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 500 leading political science and international relations journals, with over 400 titles in full text.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 500 scholarly journals and indexing and abstracts from 2,900 journal titles related to political science, global in scope.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA) - E-journal format
Produced by the International Political Science Association, is a professional research tool in Political Science and proximate disciplines. It includes current indexing and abstracts of articles, selected and edited by a team of political scientists, from more than 900 journals from all over the globe.
more...less...
1. Over 290,000 records, with approximately 8,500 new records added to the database each year
2. The database goes back to 1951, making it the only comprehensive source of abstracts for scholarly articles covering the entire period to today
3. Abstracts from journals in foreign languages are in English, with the original titles and English translations

Find open access articles- Search box

Search the Web using Google Scholar to access scholarly articles either published in free, open access journals or in tradtional subscription journals but posted in e-repositories and on university websites. You can also use Google Scholar to search through some library online databases such as JSTOR but be sure you are on campus so the database recognizes you as a subscriber.

University Libraries Research Guides

Political Science: International & Comparative

Librarian