Research Guides: Political Science: Data and Statistics on the Web

UM Research Guide

Finding Data
Strategies and resources for finding data across the social sciences, including opinion surveys.

Harvard Dataverse

Harvard Dataverse
Find data across research fields, preview metadata, and download files

The Correlates of War Project

The Correlates of War Project
COW seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations.

Gallup Politics

Gallup Politics
Gallup offers up to date information on current conversations regarding politics.

General Social Survey

GSS Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.

USA.gov

USA.gov offers US Government lists of data, statistics and maps related to most government agencies, which includes census information, and federal, state and local level agencies.

Library of Current Population Surveys

The United States Census Bureau Library allows you to browse current population publications and working papers, and infographics.

Census.gov

Census.gov
This site provides public resources from the U.S. Census Bureau including population, economic, industry, and geography studies.

Comparative Agendas Project

Comparative Agendas Project
The Comparative Agendas Project collects and organizes data from archived sources to track policy outcomes across countries.

Population Reference Bureau - International Stats on Population Demographics

Population Reference Bureau - International Stats on Population Demographics
PRB analyzes, translates, and disseminates data and research, and conducts original research on population, health, and the environment.

ICPSR - Research/Data Depository

ICPSR - Research/Data Depository
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

American National Election Studies

American National Election Studies
To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

App State Political Science Databases

App State Political Science Databases
The following link provides a list of the political science databases accessible by App State students. Note the top databases in the field are marked with a yellow star.

National Agricultural Statistics Service

The National Agricultural Statistics Service includes breakdowns of state, county, and congressional districts agricultural statistics. This site also includes things like census of aquaculture, irrigation and water management and on-farm energy production statistics.

Here is a link to the main Home Page.

This is the Full Census of Agriculture report.

And, here is The Executive Summary, which was released in April 2019, data is from 2017.

UMICH Stats

UMICH Stats
Statistical Resources on the Web is maintained by the University of Michigan and provides links to data covering topics from agriculture to weather.

UMICH American Community Survey

UMICH American Community Survey
Information on gathering information to assess a community

Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

VoteView - Congressional Voting

VoteView - Congressional Voting
Voteview allows users to view every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map including information about the ideological positions of voting Senators and Representatives.

Annual Review of Political Science

Annual Review of Political Science
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.

DataCensus.gov

DataCensus.gov is your census data source for maps, population, house, economics and geographic data.

US Census Fact Finder

Explore census data including tables, maps, and more here.

University Libraries Research Guides

Political Science: Data and Statistics on the Web

Librarian