Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science: American Government

Specialized Library E-Resources

Library References

DICTIONARIES

The Facts on File dictionary of American politics
REF JK9 .H54 2001

Safire's political dictionary
REF JK9 .S2 2008

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of women and American politics
REF HQ1236.5.U6 E52 2008

Encyclopedia of media and politics
REF BL65.P7 E53 2007 (2 vols)

Encyclopedia of politics and religion
REF BL65.P7 E53 2007

CQ's politics in America
MAIN STACKS JK1012 .C63  2000

Encyclopedia of presidential campaigns, slogans, issues, and platforms
REF E176.1 .R6 2004

Finding Articles

Use these databases available through ASU Library subscription for the most thorough search for articles.  If off-campus, you will be prompted for your name and Banner ID number before passing through to the database. You may need to check other databases as well depending on your topic. These can include the article databases:  ScienceDirect, Cambridge Journals Online, EconLit, SpringerLink, and Sociological Abstracts.

Find open access articles

Search the Web using Google Scholar to access scholarly articles either published in free, open access journals or in tradtional subscription journals but posted in e-repositories and on university websites.  You can also use Google Scholar to search through some library online databases such as JSTOR but be sure you are on campus so the database recognizes you as a subscriber.

Google Scholar Search

Political Issues Sites