LibGuides: CI 5750 Teaching Diverse Young Adolescents: Finding Education Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

Recommended Databases for Education

See All Article Databases for a complete listing of article databases you may want to consult.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.

Coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Coverage: 1960s-present

How to Read a Scholarly Article

How To Read a Scholarly Article

This PDF gives a quick breakdown on how to read a scholarly article to assess if it might be useful for your research.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides limited access to peer-reviewed papers, books, and more. Use it as an additional resource for your topic.

Requesting Articles

The article you need is not available electronically?

You may request it via ILLiad (our interlibrary loan system).
We will find it, scan it, and make it available to you electronically.

Library Guides

CI 5750 Teaching Diverse Young Adolescents: Finding Education Articles

IMC Librarian