LibGuides: CI 5750 Teaching Diverse Young Adolescents: Finding Background Information

APPsearch

ASU ASU + WCU + UNCA

To get the full text of articles, try both the Find@Appstate link and the article title, or contact a librarian for assistance.

Books and encyclopedias provide background information for an unfamiliar topic or person.

For example, you could search Books and Media using these keywords:

Here are a few of the encyclopedias available via the library:

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Includes access to the Britannica encyclopedia, atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, multimedia, and more.

You can also use Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors, and access articles selected by the editors. This provides access to the online academic edition of Britannica.
Coverage: 1998-present
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.
It includes over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips.

Use a concept map to help you narrow your topic and focus in on a specific aspect of your research.
A concept map helps you construct a vocabulary, find key words on your topic, and form some questions you might like to answer about your topic for your assignment.