LibGuides: Sport History and Culture: Journal Articles

Examples of Subjects to Investigate

Check the databases listed to the right for articles on the history of sport. Search for subjects like:

sports history

sports cross-cultural studies

sports economic aspects

sports journalism

sports philosophy

sports political aspects

sports sociological aspects

sports spectators

professional sports

discrimination in sports

racism in sports

mass media and sports

violence in sports

Also try specific sports, people, groups, or organizations, such as:

baseball history

Negro Leagues

doping in sports

athletes drug use

stock car racing economic aspects

hunting moral and ethical aspects

sports for women

women athletes legal status

Indians of North America sports

Selected Sources of Magazine, Newspaper, and Journal Articles

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive international content of the database is drawn from websites, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.

Sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport and fitness-related topics.

Coverage: 1900-present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites.

GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.

Coverage: 1972-present
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Previously named "LGBT Life with Full Text"
LGBTQ+ Source provides full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc.

LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.

Coverage: 1990s-present
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations.

United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Multicultural Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Coverage: 1955-present
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Covers all aspects of sociology, including community development, culture and social structure, demography, human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine, law, religion, science, social psychology, group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.

Coverage: 1952-present
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Covers accounting, banking, finance and economics, management, marketing, MIS, POM, and other business topics.
Coverage: 1886-present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window

Library Guides

Sport History and Culture: Journal Articles

Librarian

Examples of Subjects to Investigate

Selected Sources of Magazine, Newspaper, and Journal Articles

Librarian