Research Guides: Legal Resources: Web Sites

Online Legal Resources

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court explains everything readers need to know about the Supreme Court, from its origins and how it functions, to the people who have shaped it and the impact of its decisions on American life.
Supreme Court Yearbook
The Supreme Court Yearbook has provided valuable in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics.

These short (1-2 minute) tutorials are designed to help you get started with your research and familiarize you with library services and resources.

The Information Cycle
How information is created

How to Start the College Level Research Process
Understanding the differences between Google and Library Databases

Evaluating Sources
Learn how to find and to evaluate what you have found

Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute
Includes a guide to basic legal citation. Contains the U.S. Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, and decisions from the Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals.
FindLaw
Includes links to state constitutions, state codes, court cases (both state and federal), academic law journals and law reviews (some full text), legal associations, law firms and individual lawyers.
U.S. Government Publishing Office
Provides access to the U.S. budget; Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register; Commerce Business Daily; congressional bills, calendars, directories, hearings, prints, reports, the Congressional Record, and other materials.
OYEZ: U.S. Supreme Court Media
Devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work.
Supreme Court of the United States
Access to dockets, oral arguments, court rules, opinions, orders and journals, and much more.
Congress.gov
Legislative information from the Library of Congress.
USA.gov
The federal government's portal to information and services. Also includes state, local, and tribal governments.