Research Guides: Art 4351 Senior Seminar (All Sections): Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see the Popular and Scholarly Sources video.

Handouts

Selected Art Databases

Consult the complete list of Library Databases for additional online resources.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 170 full-text periodicals, and indexes thousands of English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, dissertations, and art reproductions.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items about all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Limited to 11 simultaneous users.
Contains the full text of The Grove Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years.

Multidisciplinary (General) Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.

Selected History Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Selected Literature Databases

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, and other resources on folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.

Selected Science Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles on agriculture, ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental technology, law, and policy, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.

Selected Social Science Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals (over 500 in full text), and selected coverage of nearly 200 more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
Citations with abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy and ethics.

Requesting Books & Journals

ABC Express
Use ABC express (WNCLN) to request material available through the ASU Library Catalog
Interlibrary Loan (via ILLiad)
Use ILLiad to request material (books or articles) which are not available through the WNCLN catalog

Citation Resources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

Citation Guidelines

University Libraries Research Guides

Art 4351 Senior Seminar (All Sections): Articles

Librarian Contact