Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Humanities: Language & Literature

Examples of Digital Scholarship in Language & Literature

American Transcendentalism Web. Includes contributed papers and reviews, full text of variants of transcendental authors' works, and more.

Brown University Women Writers Project. Long-term project devoted to digitizing texts by pre-Victorian women to bring them to the public.

The Chicago Homer. Bilingual database that "uses that search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make distinctive featires of early Greek epics accessible to readers with and without Greek."

Digital Defoe: Studies in Defoe and His Contemporaries. Online journal with many applications.

The Digital Temple: A Documentary Edition of George Herbert's English Verse. Side by side views of original and digital images, with critical annotatins and textual notes

Elizabeth Barrett Browning Project. "Accurate and accessible texts with annotations on context, composition, and publication" of Browning's work.

Modernist Journals Project. Brown University and University of Tulsa joint project to make primary source material from 1890 to 1922 available.

Perseus Digital Library. Large collection of texts, mostly classical but also including some nineteenth century U.S. sources, which are searchable.

Poetry Center Digital Archive. The Poetry Center at San Francisco State University is gradually digitizing its archive of 4,000 hours of records 1954-present.

Rossetti Archive. Digital archive of all Dante Gabriel Rossetti's pictorial and textual works and a large collection of supporting materials.

The Swinburne Project: A Digital Archive of the Life and Works of Algernon Charles Swinburne (1837-1909). Indiana University archive of the life and works of the Victorian poet.

Tony Hillerman Portal. An interactive guide to the life and work of author Tony HIllerman.

William Blake Archive. Digital archive of the works of William Blake, including illuminated books, drawings, paintings, engravings, and more.

Selected Recent Publications on Digital Scholarship in Languge & Literature

Earhart, Amy E., and Andrew Jewell, eds. The American Literature Scholar in the Digital Age. PS51 A44 2011.

Jockers, Matthew Lee. Macroanalysis: Digital Methods and Literary History. PN73 J63 2013.

Literary Studies in the Digital Age. Constantly evolving anthology on the MLA website

Van Peer, Willie, et al., eds. Literary Education and Digital Learning: Methods and Technologies for Humanities Studies.PN56 I64 L57 2010.

Whitson, Roger, and Jason Whittaker. William Blake and the Digital Humanities: Collaboration, Participation, and Social Media. PR4148 I52 W46 2013.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Alex McAllister
Contact:
Belk Library
828.262.8472