Research Guides: Feminist Theory: Finding Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see Popular and Scholarly Sources video.

Google Scholar

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

Gender Studies and Women's Studies Databases & Indexes

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship; includes journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, dissertations, and other sources.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/books on LGBTQ+ topics.

Lesbian Sources: a bibliography of periodical articles, 1970-1990
ASU MAIN Stacks Z4866.L44 G37 1993
Index of 64 periodicals.
The Lesbian Periodicals Index
Author and subject index of 42 lesbian periodicals, now mostly defunct, from 1947 to 1984.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.

University Libraries Research Guides

Feminist Theory: Finding Articles

Librarian