Research Guides: Art History: Finding Articles

Search Google Scholar

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

What is Peer Review?

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest.

Citation Guidelines

Art Databases (ASU Only)

Consult the complete list of Library Databases for additional resources.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 170 full-text periodicals, and indexes thousands of English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, dissertations, and art reproductions.
Includes nearly 170 full-text periodicals, and indexes thousands of English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, dissertations, and art reproductions.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items about all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability.
Journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items about all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books in the fields of art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design, and more.
Full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books in the fields of art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design, and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index of articles on architecture and design from American and international journals along with publications of professional associations and major international serials on architecture and design.
Index of articles on architecture and design from American and international journals along with publications of professional associations and major international serials on architecture and design.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of The Grove Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years.
Limited to 11 simultaneous users.

Multidisciplinary, Period, & Discipline-Specific Databases

Consult the complete list of Library Databases for additional online resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of more than 1.45 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
Bibliography of more than 1.45 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Art History: Finding Articles

Librarian

Librarian Contact