Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's in this Guide
Background Sources: Art research guides, biographical information and encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Finding Books: suggestions for finding books at Appalachian State University, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University (WNCLN Catalog) and at other institutions (WorldCat).
Finding Articles: suggested databases for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Finding Images: suggested databases and web sites for finding images.
Art News, Reviews, and Websites: selected list of databases, websites and blogs for finding current and historical art reviews and news.
Cite Sources - suggested resources for citing in MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian style.
Research Help & Services: includes citation tools and writing websites and manuals.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online - includes the following resources:
- Grove Art Online
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (1996, 34 volumes),containing more than 45,000 articles contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries.
- Oxford Companion to Western Art
Contains more than 2,600 entries, and provides discriminating and reliable coverage of over 1,700 artists and their work.
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Featuring more than 600 articles by more than 500 globally recognized art historians, philosophers, and theorists, this encyclopedia provides coverage of historical accounts and critical discussions on the subject.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts.