Research Guides: Theatre &amp; Drama: Find Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see Popular and Scholary Sources from the library's list of How-To Videos.

Selected Databases for Research in Theater, Dance, and Related Areas

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Gives access to over 600 award-winning productions and a wealth of related study materials.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications as well as full text for more than 100 journals on all aspects of film and television theory, production, and reviews.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, and other resources on folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama productions, playtexts, audio plays, and scholarly books, introducing new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.

Trial Databases

National Theatre Collection - available until February 26, 2024

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive indexing of 375 magazines published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

For more database options consult the complete list of Library Databases.

University Libraries Research Guides

Theatre & Drama: Find Articles

Librarian Contact

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

Selected Databases for Research in Theater, Dance, and Related Areas

Other Useful Databases

Librarian Contact