Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Orientation for New Faculty: Overview

Welcome to the Belk Library and Information Commons

Tour of the Library:   August 2020 -- Try out our new Augmented Reality tour of the library.  Get the Assemblr app on your phone or ask for the AR tour at our service desks.

  • Lower Level: Inspire Maker Lab and Digital Media Studio.  Tech check-out desk.  Instructional Materials (K-12) Collection. Books for kids. Fred the Bear.
  • 4th Floor: Special Collections and University Archives.  Nice views.  You will eventually have a meeting in Room 421, the Broyhill Family Room.
  • 2nd and 3rd Floors: Main Stacks.  The Writing Center on 2nd Floor.  Faculty Lounge on 3rd Floor. Many group study rooms.  The 3rd Floor is reserved for quiet study only.
  • 1st Floor: main Library Service Desk, Browsing and DVD collections.

Databases, Journals, Books

  • Tell your librarian what you need.  We're here to get it for you (and we might already have it).
  • It usually takes time to get a journal subscription or expensive e-resources, so ask early.
  • Need to insert a database, journal, article, or ebook chapter into AsULearn for students?  We can give you the best link for that.
  • Books, ebooks, video?  We can get those fast.  Contact your librarian directly.  About 10% of our books have been requested.  We'd be happy to increase that proportion.
  • For what we do not have, ILLiad is fast--usually 24 hours for articles. 
  • NC DOCKS -- Increase web access to your scholarship by including it in NC DOCKS.  In addition to faculty articles, we also have theses in NC DOCKS. 

Instruction

The University Library faculty works to integrate information literacy into the University's curriculum by developing students' core competencies in information literacy and critical thinking.

The Library Instruction Program and Services page provides information about how librarians can collaborate with you to improve the research skills of your students.

You can also contact the librarian assigned to your program.

Technology and Digital Scholarship

Digital Media Studio, Tech Desk, and Technology Services.

The Digital Media Studio (DMS) is an open multimedia lab for the Appalachian State University campus. The purpose of the DMS is to provide access to current software and hardware, but most of all we provide help using digital media tools and technologies.

The Tech Desk allows patrons to check out digital equipment and accessories for personal use.  Also, media conversion, a 3D printer, and large-format printing.

Inspire Maker Lab

A makerspace is a place where users of all skill levels can come together to bring their ideas to life by “making” things. Students, faculty and staff at Appalachian State University will be able to use the space to access tools, learn new skills, and create things both for academic and personal use.  A variety of workshops will be provided for those who want to learn more about our maker options.

Digital Scholarship and Initiatives

DSI engages and partners with Appalachian faculty members, students, library colleagues, and the community to support new scholarship in a rapidly changing digital landscape. DSI provides and sustains innovative digital tools and publishing platforms for content delivery, discovery, analysis, data curation, and preservation.

Who to contact?

Library Service Desk:  Ask questions, check out stuff, renew, ask about your account (828)262-2818