Skip to main content

U.S. Geological Survey Publications: Maps

How to find publications of the U.S. Geological Survey

Check Out These Library Guides

GIS (Geographic Information Systems).
How to find and use interactive maps.

Useful Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science. ASU Reference G70.212 E53 2008

U.S. Geological Survey National Geologic Map Database, indexes resources dealing with North American geology by geological time period and location.

Geologic Map of North Carolina

geologic map of north carolina

Find USGS Maps

Many maps published by the U.S. Geological Survey are available electronically. Some are available in paper or microfiche. A growing number are available free of charge via the USGS web page.

USGS Maps in Belk Library

The Library provides U.S. Geological Survey maps in paper, microfiche, and electronic formats. If you find a record for a map in the Library catalog, note the location (for example, ASU Map Library) and classification number (for example, I 19.91:1-2397) in the record and follow the location directions below:

ASU GOVT US. Go to the government publications collection on the lower level of Belk Library. The collection is located in the northeast corner of the floor, near the University Reading Center.

ASU MAIN STACKS. Go to the main book collection on the second and third floors of Belk Library

ASU MAIN STACKS OVERSIZE. Go to the oversized (very large) book shelves on the third floor of Belk Library, in the alcove outside University Learning Technology Services.

ASU MICROFORM US. Go to the microfiche collection on the lower level of Belk Library.The collection is the the northeast corner of the floor, just outside the University Writing Center.  Look for the aisle labeled U.S. Government Documents.

ASU SPEC APP COLL MAP  or ASU SPEC APP COLL MAP. Go the Special Collections Department on the fourth floor of Belk Library

ONLINE ACCESS. Click on the link to view the map.

USGS Maps on the U.S. Geological Survey Web Site

Go to the U.S. Geological Survey web site and click Maps, Imagery, and Publications at the top left of the screen. Select from the Maps box or the Data and Imagery lists in the right column.