Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biblical Interpretation: Citing Sources Using Chicago/Turabian

AppState University Writing Center

University Writing Center Resources

AppState's University Writing Center has assembled a comprehensive set of Chicago Style resources and is the recommended place to start if you need help.

All links open in a new window.

Chicago (Turabian) Style - Electronic Sources

Electronic Source

Example

Online book

(Turabian 17.1.10)

 

Ambler, Tim, and Morgen Witzel. Doing Business in China. London: Routledge, 2000. ebrary e-book.

Magazine article from a subscription service

(Turabian 17.3, 17.2.7)

(In the following examples, the URLs have been truncated—indicated by an ellipsis […]—but you should use the full URL.)

Kluger, Jeffrey. “Dr. Sigmund Doolittle.” Discover, February 1996. http://find.galegroup.com... (accessed April 1, 2005).

Journal article from a subscription service

(Turabian 17.2.7)

Lappan, Glenda. “Revitalizing and Refocusing Our Efforts.” Journal for Research in Mathematics Education 30, no. 5 (1999): 568-78. http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com... (accessed February 8, 2005).

 

Thompson, Michael D., and Robert O. Riggs. “Institutional Expenditure Patterns and the Facilitation of Mission.” Community College Review 27, no. 4 (2000): 1- . http://search.ebscohost.com...  (accessed December 20, 2004).

Newspaper article from a subscription service

(Turabian 17.4)

(Newspaper articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes.)

Encyclopedia  article or work in anthology from a subscription service

(Turabian 17.5.3, 17.5.9)

Encyclopedia articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes.

For documents from online databases, detailed information is given in footnotes; the bibliography lists only the database and the URL for the main page of the database. For example, an article from the Dictionary of Literary Biography that was found in the Literature Resource Center database would appear in the bibliography as:

  Literature Resource Center. http://galenet.galegroup.com

Website

(Turabian 17.7.1)

“Bio.” A&E Television Networks. http://www.biography.com (accessed September 8, 2008).

Article on website

(Turabian 17.7.1)

Musinsky, Gerald. “Animal Spirits.” Encyclopedia Mythica Online. http://www.pantheon.org/animal-spirits.html (accessed January 17, 2007).

Chicago (Turabian) Style - Print Sources

Books

Example

One author

(Turabian 17.1.1)

Fairbanks, Carol. Prairie Women: Images in American and Canadian Fiction. New Haven:  Yale University Press, 1986.

Two or more  authors

(Turabian 17.1.1)

List all authors, no matter how many there are.

Davidson, William R., Daniel J. Sweeney, and Ronald W. Stampfl. Retailing Management.  6th ed. New York: Wiley, 1988.

Anonymous book

(Turabian 17.1.1)

New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. New York: Macmillan, 1997.

Anthology or compilation

(Turabian 17.1.1)

Feldman, Paula R., ed. British Women Poets of the Romantic Era. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1997.

Work in an anthology

(Turabian 17.1.8)

Shutte, Nancy, and Laura Tangley. "Problem Drinkers Can Learn Moderation." In Addiction: Opposing Viewpoints, edited by Jennifer A. Hurley, 93-100. San Diego: Greenhaven, 2000.

Articles

Example

Magazine articles

(Turabian 17.3)

(Do not abbreviate names of months.)

(The first article below is from a weekly magazine; the second is from a monthly magazine.)

Mathews, Jay. "How to Build a Better High School." Newsweek, May 16, 2005.

Wright, Karen. "The First Earthlings." Discover, March 2003.

Journal article

(Turabian 17.2)

 

(There is no distinction made between journals with continuous paging and those with issues paged separately.)

Cnattingius, Sven, Anna Torrång, Anders Ekbom, Fredrik Granath, Gunnar Petersson, and Mats Lambe. "Pregnancy Characteristics and Maternal Risk of Breast Cancer." JAMA 294, no. 19 (November 2005): 2474-2480.

Albada, Kelly Fudge. "The Public and Private Dialogue about the American Family on Television." Journal of Communication 50, no. 4 (Autumn 2000): 79-110.

Encyclopedia article

(Turabian 17.5.3)

(Encyclopedia articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes.)

Newspaper article

(Turabian 17.4)

(Newspaper articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes.)

Chicago (Turabian) Style - Non-Print Sources

Non-print Source

Example

Interview

(Turabian 17.6.3)

 

(Unpublished interviews are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes.)

Videotape or DVD

(Turabian 17.8.5)

Bioterror. VHS. Directed by Kirk Wolfinger. Boston: WGBH Boston Video, 2002.