(Old) Sustainable Development: Finding Books

Introduces students to issues surrounding current energy sources and alternative energy options.

The first book to address the early development of the photovoltaic industry, and the pioneering researchers and companies in the sector Well before the end of this century, solar power will be the world's dominant power source. This book looks at the origins of this smart sustainable energy technology, tracing the pioneering years from its inception following the 1973 oil crisis to the end of the last millennium--just as the sector was poised for explosive growth. It focuses on the progress of the early terrestrial photovoltaic sector, often in the face of skepticism or apathy. It also covers the research and achievements of people and organizations within the PV business. Written by a leader in the field with more than 40 years of experience and an international reputation in the sustainable energy industry, The Solar Generation: Childhood and Adolescence of Terrestrial Photovoltaics offers enlightening coverage on the terrestrial PV industry. The first part of this 3-volume set provides a historical backdrop to the technology and tracks the development of research, markets, prices, applications, policies, and more. Part II is called the 'encyclopedia' and features a Who's Who of the most influential people and profiles of key companies, events, and developments. Finally, Part III is the reference section and comes complete with glossaries, bibliography, and an incredibly comprehensive index. This text also: Addresses the early development of the PV sector from a global perspective Focuses on a defined period, leaving scope for later follow-ups as the sector matures Offers a study on the interactions between technology, policy, and market drivers The Solar Generation is an ideal book for all professionals in the power and energy field from every corner of the globe.  

Experts around the world provide authoritative coverage of the growing body of knowledge about ways to restore the planet. Focused on solutions, this interdisciplinary online publication draws from the natural, physical, and social sciences, geophysics, engineering, and resource management, and from philosophy and religion.

Each entry features numerous cross references and definitions of weather and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study

The Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste explores the topic across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and ranges further to include business, consumerism, environmentalism, and marketing.

The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology.

The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.

Publication Date: 2008-10-15
The essays cover a broad range of topics within environmental philosophy and ethics, including, to name a few. agrarianism, alternative technologies, animal ethics, Wendell Berry, Buddhism, coral bleaching, deserts and desertification, environmental citizenship, economic discounting, and the Gaia hypothesis.

Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.

The nearly 750 entries in this 3-volume encyclopedia cover a vast range of topics affecting global warming and climate change.

Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment.

Explores the on-going paradigm shift in culture and lifestyles toward promoting a sustainable environment.

Provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green-energy economy.

Explores the essential role of technology and its most recent developments toward a sustainable environment.

This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.