| Primary Sources | Secondary Sources | Tertiary Sources | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Definition | Raw data; original sources of information before it has been analyzed. | Sources that analyze or interpret primary data. They do not offer new evidence. | Sources that compile data on a particular topic without new information or analysis. |
| Characteristics | First-hand observations, contemporary accounts of events, viewpoints at the time. | Interpretations of information, written after the event, offer review or critique. | Collections or lists of primary and secondary sources, reference works, finding tools for sources. |
| Examples | Interviews, speeches, diaries, birth certificates, newspaper articles written at the time, court documents, laws |
Biographies, journal articles, policy reports, textbooks, commentaries, editorials, literary criticisms. | Encyclopedias, bibliographies, abstracts, indexes, literature reviews, library catalogs, databases. |
|
Scholarly Journals |
Trade / Professional Magazines |
Popular Magazines |
|
|---|---|---|---|
| Length | Longer articles (often 10+ pages), providing in-depth analysis | Mid-length articles (often 2-8 pages), providing practical guidance | Shorter articles (often <1-5 pages), providing broader overviews |
| Author | An expert or specialist in the field (often a professor), name and credentials always provided | Usually someone working in the field, with hands-on experience; some staff writers | Usually a staff writer or a journalist, name and credentials often not provided |
| Language | Professional language, jargon, theoretical terms | Some jargon and technical terms | Non-technical language |
| Likely Audience | Scholarly readers (professors, researchers or students) | Other people working in the industry | Anyone |
| Advertisements | Few or none | Some -- products to sell to practitioners in that industry | Many -- products for the general public |
| Format/Structure | Usually structured, with likely sections: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, bibliography | Sometimes has sub-sections for organization | No specific format or structure |
| Special Features | Illustrations that support the text, such as tables of statistics, graphs, maps, or photographs | Some illustrations; practical guidelines, best practices, lesson plans, how-to, or other hands-on direction | Glossy/color illustrations or graphics, usually for advertising purposes |
| Editors | Reviewed and critically evaluated by several editors. Often refereed or peer-reviewed by experts in the field. | Editorial board of other practitioners or professionals in the field, but no external peer review | Not evaluated by experts in the field, but by editors or other journalists on staff |
| Credits | Bibliography (works cited) and/or footnotes are always present to document research | Usually no formal bibliography, although references to other research are often mentioned in-text | No bibliography, although references to other research are sometimes mentioned in-text |
Chart reused with permission from University of Wisconsin Whitewater's Andersen Library.
