Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

SPE 5030 Research Informing Practice in Special Education: The Web

Google Scholar or Subject Databases?

Single boat on ocean

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar is similar to fishing in the ocean. You will find and catch a wide variety of fish.

  • Google Scholar offers a wide variety of articles and resources on various subjects and topics.
  • Searching in Google Scholar can result in numerous hits with many being irrelevant to your specific subject or topic.

canoe on river

Subject Databases

Using a Subject Specific database is similar to fishing in the New River. The New River specializes in a smaller variety of fish, and you are more likely to catch the type of fish you want.

  • Using a subject specific database helps to focus and narrow your search resulting in more relevant hits. 

Searching Google Scholar Tutorial

Things to note:

  • Be sure to verify whether an article is peer-reviewed, as it is not readily noted in Google Scholar.
  • Use advanced search features to narrow your results. (Three horizontal lines in the upper left of the screen.)
  • Use the "Cited By" on an article that is a good fit for your topic to find publications that used that work.

NC LIVE

NC Live logo

NC LIVE is a database available through public libraries and North Carolina school systems. It is not as robust as the databases you have access to when you are a student, but there are some valuable resources you can access. Search the same way you would any other database. Select "Advanced Search" and use the boolean operators to help you find exactly what you need.

  

Credit

Google Scholar or Subject Databases credit to Jewel Davis

Education Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Woods
she, her
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons, 037A
(828) 262-8160