LibGuides: Sustainable Development: Finding Articles

Journals in Sustainable Development

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see the Popular and Scholarly Sources Tutorial.

Subject Databases for Sustainable Development

See more Library Databases in Sustainable Development

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly and general interest journals, as well as government documents and reports. GreenFILE offers coverage of all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Coverage: 1970s-present
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection. Coverage of academic journals in the following areas: Biochemistry; Biological Sciences; Earth Sciences; Economics; Energy; Engineering & Technology; Environmental Science; Materials Science; Microbiology & Immunology; Neurosciences; Nursing and Health Professions; Physics and Astronomy; Sustainability and much more.
Coverage: 1960s-present
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 500 peer reviewed journals and over 2,000 books online.

Covers a wide array of disciplines including biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.

Coverage: 1990s-present
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers a wide array of disciplines including business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, law, life sciences, mathematics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, psychology, and social sciences.

Google Scholar

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

Library Guides

Sustainable Development: Finding Articles

Subject Guide