Research Guides: Appropriate Technology: Finding Articles

Recommended Databases for Appropriate Technology

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 1,100 scholarly journals, trade journals, and reports representing all major environmental science topics.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 800 international English-language science and technology magazines and journals.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items about all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles on agriculture, ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental technology, law, and policy, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.

Google Scholar

The library provides access to thousands of journals that are searched by Google Scholar.

Other Useful Databases for Appropriate Technology

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index of articles on architecture and design from American and international journals along with publications of professional associations and major international serials on architecture and design.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
Reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest journals, as well as government documents and reports covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,000 full text journals primarily in the fields of science, technology, medicine, business, and law.

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see the tutorial:

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

University Libraries Research Guides

Appropriate Technology: Finding Articles

Subject Guide