Research Guides: COM 3928: Communication Research Methods (All Sections): Articles

What is Peer Review

Peer Review- PDF
An overview of the peer review process used in many refereed or scholarly journals.

Editorial Policy of Public Relations Journal

Tutorials

The following tutorials will assist you in conducting your research.

Search Google Scholar

Recommended Communication Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals (over 500 in full text), and selected coverage of nearly 200 more.
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals (over 500 in full text), and selected coverage of nearly 200 more.
Sage Journals
Provides full text access to scholarly journals in the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering, and the social sciences and humanities.
Provides full text access to scholarly journals in the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering, and the social sciences and humanities.
ComAbstracts
Indexes scholarly journals and books in the communications-related disciplines.
Indexes scholarly journals and books in the communications-related disciplines.

Browse all library databases

Recommended Social Science Databases

Business Source Complete
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
Education Source
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
PsycINFO
Contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
Contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.

Browse all library databases

Types of Periodical Literature

Periodical is a term used to describe any publication that is published multiple times (periodically). Periodicals include materials such as popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and trade publications.

Popular Magazine

Audience: general public
Purpose: inform or entertain
Authors: reporters or free-lance writers
Example: Time

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal

Audience: academic discipline
Purpose: communicate new findings and theories
Authors: scholars or experts on the topic
Example: Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly

Trade Periodical

Audience: industry or profession
Purpose: keep a specialized audience up to date
Authors: reporters or practitioners
Example: Advertising Age

COM 3928: Communication Research Methods (All Sections): Articles

Librarian Contact