LibGuides: ART 4040: Cross Cultural Study of Masks: Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

The video explains the process of peer review and the role that peer review plays in scholarly research and publication.

What is Peer Review
Overview of the peer review process.
African Arts Journal
Information about the peer review process for African Arts journal

Research Tips

As you search the library resources for information on your topic keep the following in mind:

Peer reviewed or scholarly articles can be excellent sources of information for your research.
When you locate an on-topic source (i.e. article, book chapter, web source) review the bibliographies for additional resources. You can then follow up on this list of resources to find additional relevant information on your research topic.
A regular review of bibliographies will also assist you in becoming more familiar with the areas of scholarship you are researching.

Art & History Databases

Complete list of L ibrary Databases

Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.

Features coverage of English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Coverage: 1929-1984
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Abstracts indexes over 400 English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes nearly 120 titles in full text.

Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, film, video, painting, photography, sculpture, textiles.
Coverage: 1984-present
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations.

United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Multicultural Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Coverage: 1955-present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.

Provides coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). Topics covered include Multicultural Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Religion, Anthropology, Political Science, History of Scientific, Economic, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.

Coverage: 1955-present

Other Useful Databases

Complete list of Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Sources include books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.

Covers the history, life and culture of indigenous peoples of North America. Subjects covered include anthropology, archeology, education, folklore, government, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, psychology, and sociology. Indigenous peoples of North America include Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples (i.e. "Indians") of Alaska, Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica.
Coverage: 1500s-present
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, geography, history, linguistics, music, psychology, religious studies, social anthropology, and sociology.
Alternate Name:
Anthropological Literature
Coverage: 19th century-present
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international journal, with 160 titles available in full text.

International Index to Performing Arts covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.

Coverage: 1990s-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature. Provides over one million citations for items from more than 4,400 journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and websites.

Coverage: 1926-present
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Covers all aspects of sociology, including community development, culture and social structure, demography, human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine, law, religion, science, social psychology, group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.

Coverage: 1952-present

Borrow, Renew, Request

There are three way to get materials not owned by Appalachian State University. The links below provide information on each service.

ABC Express
Use this service to request items available at WCU or UNCA. ABC Express can have books or journals delivered within three days. ABC materials are delivered on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays and may be picked-up at the Library Service Desk.
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not held at ASU,UNCA, or WCU. First Time users must create an account.
Make requests online through ILLiad.
It wakes anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks to receive materials through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Please consider this before ordering. To avoid delays, provide complete citation information for the materials requested.

Library Guides

ART 4040: Cross Cultural Study of Masks: Articles

Librarian Contact