LibGuides: eBook Collections: eBook Collections

eBook Collections at Appalachian State

eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Many academic books on a variety of subjects. You can just read online or set up an account to download or print up to 52 pages. Please close or "release" a book when you are finished.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Included are many ebooks from small and academic presses. Almost all of them can be checked out and downloaded.The easiest way to view EBSCO eBooks is to read them online.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
MackinVIA This link opens in a new window
MackinVIA offers a growing collection of eBooks for students from pre-kindergarten through grade 12.

These eBooks allow for unlimited, simultaneous as well as one book-one user access. Many eBooks are interactive and designed for struggling or reluctant readers.
NC LIVE Home Grown eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection currently consists of more than 1,200 titles from eight North Carolina publishers, spanning a wide range of topics, from history and culture, to cooking and travel. The NC LIVE eBook program is a collaborative effort to bring eBooks published by North Carolina publishers to the virtual shelves of North Carolina libraries. The titles are part of NC LIVE's permanent collections, and can be read simultaneously by an unlimited number of readers
O'Reilly eBooks (Safari) This link opens in a new window
From "Select your institution," choose "Institution not listed" and enter your App State e-mail, or log in with an existing account.
Online access to 30,000+ technical books, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths, and audio books from O'Reilly & Associates and other publishers.

Subjects covered: Business, Desktop and Web Applications, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development, Math & Science, Personal & Professional Development, Products, and Vendors. All O'Reilly eBooks are in the library catalog.

ACCESS NOTE: Access to O'Reilly is unlimited for all current Appalachian State University students, faculty and staff who enter their Appstate email address (in the format: username@appstate.edu). You will be emailed an invitation to create a permanent O'Reilly account. Creating a permanent account is not required unless you want to use personalized features or the smart phone app version.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
OverDrive eBooks allows Appalachian State University faculty, students and staff to borrow eBooks and audiobooks and download them to computers and portable devices.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to over 4,200 Oxford eBooks in Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health and Epidemiology, Religion and Social Work.

Downloadable chapters (pdf) for off-line viewing.

Coverage: 2000-present
Wiley Online Library Books This link opens in a new window
Featuring over 20,000 scholarly and professional books, handbooks, dictionaries, companions, and landmark book series.

JSTOR ebooks
All mixed up with journals
Taylor & Francis ebooks
also Routledge, CRC, and other imprints

Using ebooks -- EBSCO and (ProQuest) eBook Central

I suggest reading online and then saving chapters and sections as permanent PDFs. But almost all of these ebooks can be downloaded, almost all the time. See these slides with screenshots. Also, the U of New Mexico guide is helpful. And there are links to more EBSCO/ProQuest help pages at bottom here.

However, the main problem I've seen is getting the book, once it's downloaded, actually into the reader. Safari works flawlessly for me. Try that if you have an iPad/iPhone. Chrome, Firefox, and others often do not work. I'd like to hear about problems and successes.

Zoom help, if you need it.

--John Wiswell, August 2020

Encyclopedias and Reference eBook Collections

Subject encyclopedias are a good way to start research on a new topic. Articles in subject encyclopedias are usually written by experts in their field.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
It includes over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 250 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias, covering the arts, business, education, the environment, history, law, literature, medicine, nations, religion, sciences, and social sciences.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Digital Reference provides access to nearly 100 online encyclopedias covering history and culture, literature and language, arts, law, and the social sciences.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 300 subject encyclopedias and handbooks from Sage Publications.

AudioBooks

Hoopla This link opens in a new window
Users must create a Hoopla account to access. Choose "NC Live" as your library. For "Library Card" enter your University ID, and then register with your App State email address.
Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with all popular e-readers that support apps. An app is available for download. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
OverDrive eBooks allows Appalachian State University faculty, students and staff to borrow eBooks and audiobooks and download them to computers and portable devices.