What are the competitor’s resources, capabilities and competencies (e.g., Value Chain)?
What are the competitor’s business- and/or corporate-strategies?
Competitor Information
With some the following databases, you can use the NAICS Code to create a list of competitors in an industry. Some allow you to narrow that list by other criteria, such as geography, sales, private/public ownership, etc. Other databases give you the top competitors for a company.
IbisWorld has a Competitive Landscape page for each Industry.
IBISWorld’s industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Competitors tab brings up a chart with competitors names, revenue, assets, number of employees and other information. Links are provided to get additional information on competitors. You can also see comparative financial, news about competitors and create custom lists and profiles.
Sources include:
Fundamental data on over 50,000 global publicly traded companies
Annual reports for over 300,000 companies worldwide
Coverage on over 1,000,000 domestic and international private companies
Industry reports covering North America, Asia Pacific, Europe and Latin America
Executive biographies on over 200,000 confirmed corporate executives, updated daily
Earnings estimates from Thomson First Call
Microsoft Excel plug-in for data modeling and analysis
Equity research reports with analyst recommendations covering over 4,000 large-cap and mid-cap companies
Institutional holdings and insider transaction data, updated daily
Up to 30 years of adjusted and unadjusted end-of-day equity pricing data
Historical information on security pricing dating back to 1925
Mergent Online offers detailed insight into company and industry research.
You can see comparative financial, news about competitors and create custom lists and profiles.
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Covers accounting, banking, finance and economics, management, marketing, MIS, POM, and other business topics. Coverage: 1886-present
LexisNexis Academic covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits.
Subjects covered in Academic include: top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research. Coverage: 1990's-present
Enter a ticker symbol or a company name in the search box then click Get Report. Click on Snapshot then Industry Peers.
Morningstar, Inc. is a provider of independent investment research in the United States and in major international markets. Included is information on 13,000+ mutual funds, 600+ ETFs, 8,000+ stocks from NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq, and OTC exchanges, 250 screenable fund datapoints, 450 screenable stock datapoints, 2,000 Fund Analyst Reports, and 2,000+ Stock Analyst Reports.
Morningstar provides comprehensive information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange-traded funds, separate accounts, hedge funds, and 529 college savings plans.
