Research Guides: SPE 3310 Research and Issues in Special Education: The Web

Education Associations and Journals for Special Education

AAIDD
American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
CAST
Center for Applied Special Technology
CEC
Council for Exceptional Children
CEEDAR
Collaboration for Effective Educator Development, Accountability, and Reform
DADD
Division on Autism and Developmental Disabilities
NSTTAC
National Secondary Transition Technical Assistance Center
Spectrum News
Up to date and current events surrounding Autism.
TASH
Disability Advocacy

*All links open to a new window.

American Education Research Journal
The American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) is the flagship journal of the American Educational Research Association, featuring articles that advance the empirical, theoretical, and methodological understanding of education and learning. It publishes original peer-reviewed analyses that span the field of education research across all subfields and disciplines and all levels of analysis.
Annals of Dyslexia
Annals of Dyslexia is dedicated to the scientific study of dyslexia, its co-morbid conditions, and other language-learning disorders, especially those affecting literacy acquisition. Annals of Dyslexia publishes original studies, significant reviews, and well-documented reports of evidence-based instructional practices to remediate and prevent reading difficulties.
Beyond Behavior
Beyond Behavior (BB) addresses compelling issues related to individuals with behavioral challenges. Regular features include practitioner-friendly articles, which discuss evidence-based practices for use with challenging behaviors.
Exceptionality Education International
Exceptionality Education International publishes original, peer-reviewed articles and reviews on topics including but not limited to pedagogy, school and system organization and management, curricula, policy, inclusion, marginalization, international and national trends, classroom practice, adult education, educational innovations and initiatives, and teacher education.
Intervention in School and Clinic (ISC)
Intervention in School and Clinic (ISC) equips teachers and clinicians with hands-on tips, techniques, methods, and ideas for improving assessment, instruction, and management for individuals with learning disabilities or behavior disorders. Articles focus on curricular, instructional, social, behavioral, assessment, and vocational strategies and techniques that have a direct application to the classroom settings. Published by the Hammill Institute on Disabilities and SAGE in association with the Council for Learning Disabilities.
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy
The Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy highlights innovative, peer-reviewed, research-based practices aimed at improving engagement and achievement among literacy learners ages 12 and older.
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy
The Journal of Early Childhood Literacy is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal that covers research in the field of child literacy, including the history, development and teaching of literacy.
Journal of Educational Psychology
The main purpose of the Journal of Educational Psychology® is to publish original, primary psychological research pertaining to education across all ages and educational levels. A secondary purpose of the journal is the occasional publication of exceptionally important meta-analysis articles that are pertinent to educational psychology. Please note, the journal does not typically publish reliability and validity studies of specific tests or assessment instruments.
Journal of Learning Disabilities
Provides specials series (in-depth coverage of topics in the field, such as mathematics, sciences and the learning disabilities field as discursive practice), feature articles (extensive literature reviews, theoretical papers, and position papers), research articles (reports of qualitative and quantitative empirical research), and intervention articles (overviews of successful interventions).
Journal of Literacy Research
The Journal of Literacy Research (JLR) is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that publishes research related to literacy and literacy education from preschool through adulthood. JLR publishes research and scholarly papers, including original research and essays in its Insights column. Articles represent diverse research paradigms and theoretical orientations, and they employ a variety of methodologies and modes of inquiry. JLR serves as a forum for sharing innovative areas of research and pedagogy and encourages papers that disrupt traditional notions of literacy and literacy instruction.
Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools
LSHSS publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles pertaining to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology in the schools, focusing on children and adolescents. The journal is an international outlet for clinical research and is designed to promote development and analysis of approaches concerning the delivery of services to the school-aged population. LSHSS seeks to advance evidence-based practice by disseminating the results of new studies as well as providing a forum for critical reviews and meta-analyses of previously published work.
Learning Disabilities Research and Practice
Learning Disabilities Research & Practice (LDRP) publishes articles addressing the nature and characteristics of children and adults with, or with potential for, learning disabilities (specific learning disability; specific learning disorder) and/or attention deficits as they relate to practice, program development, assessment, and instruction - not limited to academic subjects, LDRP provides valuable information to professionals involved in a variety of disciplines, including special education, school psychology, counseling, reading, and health sciences.
Learning Disability Quarterly
The Learning Disability Quarterly publishes high-quality research and scholarship concerning children, youth, and adults with learning disabilities.
Literacy Today
Literacy Today, ILA's digital magazine for members, empowers and inspires educators in every stage of their career. Issues focus on hot topics in the field and how they relate to high-quality instruction, examine the latest literacy research, and share stories from our global literacy network.
Preventing School Failure
Preventing School Failure is a peer-reviewed academic journal for administrators, educators, mental health workers, juvenile justice and corrections personnel, day and residential treatment personnel, staff-development specialists, teacher educators, and others. Our goal is to share authoritative and timely information with a wide-ranging audience dedicated to serving children and adolescents in general education, special education, and alternative education programs. (1 year delay)
Reading Research Quarterly
Reading Research Quarterly is the leading global journal offering multidisciplinary scholarship on literacy among learners of all ages, including the latest research studies (methods, results, effects, findings, and implications).
The Reading Teacher
The Reading Teacher journal offers articles on a range of topics including curriculum, instruction, assessments, and programs for diverse populations of literacy learners.
School Psychology Review
School Psychology Review (SPR) is a refereed journal published 6 times per year by NASP. Its primary purpose is to provide a means for communicating scholarly advances in research, training, and practice related to psychology and education, and specifically to school psychology. Of particular interest are articles presenting original, data-based research that can contribute to the development of innovative intervention and prevention strategies and the evaluation of these approaches. (only through 2022)
Teacher Education and Special Education
Teacher Education and Special Education (TESE) creates a research forum dedicated to the preparation and professional development of teachers, scholars, leaders, and other support personnel who serve children, youth, and adults with disabilities and their families. TESE publishes original quantitative and qualitative research, systematic reviews of the literature, theoretically grounded position papers, evaluations of personnel preparation and professional development programs, and policy analyses.
Teaching Exceptional Children
TEACHING Exceptional Children (TEC) features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning. Published six times per year, TEC also brings its readers the latest data on instructional technologies, strategies, procedures, and techniques with applications to students with exceptionalities. The focus of its practical content is on immediate application.

AERA
American Education Research Association > the "big tent"
AESA
American Educational Studies Association > research by faculty on social and educational topics
ASCD
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development > focused on principals and teachers. Practice and professional development.

Google Scholar or Subject Databases?

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar is similar to fishing in the ocean. You will find and catch a wide variety of fish.

Google Scholar offers a wide variety of articles and resources on various subjects and topics.
Searching in Google Scholar can result in numerous hits with many being irrelevant to your specific subject or topic.

Subject Databases

Using a Subject Specific database is similar to fishing in the New River. The New River specializes in a smaller variety of fish, and you are more likely to catch the type of fish you want.

Using a subject specific database helps to focus and narrow your search resulting in more relevant hits.

Searching Google Scholar Tutorial

Things to note:

Be sure to verify whether an article is peer-reviewed, as it is not readily noted in Google Scholar.
Use advanced search features to narrow your results. (Three horizontal lines in the upper left of the screen.)
Use the "Cited By" on an article that is a good fit for your topic to find publications that used that work.

Credit

Google Scholar or Subject Databases credit to Jewel Davis

University Libraries Research Guides

SPE 3310 Research and Issues in Special Education: The Web

Education Librarian