LibGuides: ENG 3240 World Literature for Children: Youth Literature Research

Websites About Children's Authors/Illustrators

Reading Rockets
Features video interviews with authors.
Scholastic Author/Illustrator Index
Features a collection of biographies and interviews with popular children's authors.

Award Winners

Caldecott Medal
Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Newbery Medal
Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Coretta Scott King Award
Awarded to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Pura Belpre Award
Awarded to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Orbis Pictus
Awarded for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children.

Additional awards
A sampling of other awards.

Useful Databases for Research in Children's Literature

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online and to Something About the Author Online.

Artemis Literary Sources provides information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines. The following series are included in this database:

Children's Literature Review
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Drama Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Poetry Criticism
Shakespearean Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Coverage: 1400's-present
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
LRC is built upon Gale's three author resources: Contemporary Authors, offering biographical coverage of more than 120,000 modern writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since Vol. 95 of the print series and select profiles of authors prior to Vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works.

Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods writing in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.

Coverage: Current and retrospective
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Contains instructional materials for K-12 fiction and nonfiction books.

Coverage: Varies

Recommended Databases for Research in Education

Access is restricted to ASU students, faculty, and staff.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

Library Guides

ENG 3240 World Literature for Children: Youth Literature Research

Education Librarian

Websites About Children's Authors/Illustrators

Award Winners

Useful Databases for Research in Children's Literature

Recommended Databases for Research in Education

Blogs Related to Children's Literature

Education Librarian