Bibliographic citations with abstracts derived from over 5,000 life sciences research journals published worldwide.
Find information in virtually every life sciences discipline, including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science.
The Envirofacts Multisystem Query integrates information from a variety of databases and includes latitude and longitude information. Each of these databases contains information about facilities that are required to report activity to a state or federal system.
Envirofacts provides a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data, including data on air, land, water, toxics, waste, radiation, facilities, and compliance.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts. The fields include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts derived from over 5,000 serials published in over 100 countries; monographs (including reports); books; newsletters; conference papers and abstracts.
Zoological Record covers all aspects of modern animal research, including: Behavior; Biodiversity; Conservation; Ecology; Evolution; Genetics; Habitat; Morphology; Nomenclature; Parasitology; Physiology; Reproduction; Taxonomy; and Zoogeography.
Search Google Scholar
Boolean Searching allows you to combine words or phrases using the words AND, OR, NOT. These are called Boolean Operators. One way to think about how they will retrieve search results for you, is in the diagram below:
Using the Advanced Search feature inside of Google Scholar, can also assist you in performing Boolean Searching. It can help you to make determinations when to search whole phrases of information. For example: gene cloning and "gene cloning" are two different ways to search. By not including quotations you are essentially telling the search engine to find any result with these two words. The words will not necessarily be together, and will return substantially more results than if you were to combine the words with quotations. Using quotations keeps your search terms together and searches by an exact phrase.
FigShare for Representative Images
In looking for representative figures, or other diagrams, try your search terms in FigShare. You can narrow your searching here by selecting Figure on the left side of the page.