The successful structure of the previous edition of Principles of Fermentation Technology has been retained in this third edition, which covers the key component parts of a fermentation process including growth kinetics, strain isolation and improvement, inocula development, fermentation media, fermenter design and operation, product recovery, and the environmental impact of processes. This accurate and accessible third edition recognizes the increased importance of animal cell culture, the impact of the post-genomics era on applied science and the huge contribution that heterologous protein production now makes to the success of the pharmaceutical industry. This title is ideally suited for both newcomers to the industry and established workers as it provides essential and fundamental information on fermentation in a methodical, logical fashion. Stanbury, Whitaker and Hall have integrated the biological and engineering aspects of fermentation to make the content accessible to members of both disciplines with a focus on the practical application of theory. This text collates all the fermentation fundamentals into one concise reference, making it a valuable resource for fermentation scientists, as well as those studying in the field.
ADVANCED FERMENTATION AND CELL TECHNOLOGY A comprehensive and up-to-date reference covering both conventional and novel industrial fermentation technologies and their applications Fermentation and cell culture technologies encompass more than the conventional microbial and enzyme systems used in the agri-food, biochemical, bioenergy and pharmaceutical industries. New technologies such as genetic engineering, systems biology, protein engineering, and mammalian cell and plant cell systems are expanding rapidly, as is the demand for sustainable production of bioingredients, drugs, bioenergy and biomaterials. As the growing biobased economy drives innovation, industrial practitioners, instructors, researchers, and students must keep pace with the development and application of novel fermentation processes and a variety of cell technologies. Advanced Fermentation and Cell Technology provides a balanced and comprehensive overview of the microbial, mammalian, and plant cell technologies used by the modern biochemical process industry to develop new and improved processes and products. This authoritative volume covers the essential features of advanced fermentation and cell technology, and highlights the interaction of food fermentation and cell culture biopharmaceutical actives. Detailed chapters, organized into five sections, cover microbial cell technology, animal and plant cell technology, safety issues of new biotechnologies, and applications of microbial fermentation to food products, chemicals, and pharmaceuticals. Written by an internationally-recognized expert in food biotechnology, this comprehensive volume: Covers both conventional and novel industrial fermentation technologies and their applications in a range of industries Discusses current progress in novel fermentation, cell culture, commercial recombinant bioproducts technologies Includes overviews of the global market size of bioproducts and the fundamentals of cell technology Highlights the importance of sustainability, Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP), quality assurance, and regulatory practices Explores microbial cell technology and culture tools and techniques such as genome shuffling and recombinant DNA technology, RNA interference and CRISPR technology, molecular thermodynamics, protein engineering, proteomics and bioinformatics, and synthetic biology Advanced Fermentation and Cell Technology is an ideal resource for students of food science, biotechnology, microbiology, agricultural sciences, biochemical engineering, and biochemistry, and is a valuable reference for food scientists, researchers, and technologists throughout the food industry, particularly the dairy, bakery, and fermented beverage sectors.
In the mid-1980s, the American beer market offered far fewer options than what is available today. When microbreweries began to come onto the scene, distributors and retailers were skeptical of their new beers and did not believe that these new American brews would be able to compete with imports. Newer, smaller brewers also had to overcome antiquated laws and strong consumer brand loyalty to major domestic beers. After years of struggles, microbrewers established a foothold in the American beer market, popularized new and previously underappreciated styles, and set the stage for a massive proliferation of nanobreweries across the country. This book takes a look at these microbreweries--prime examples of American enterprise and innovation--from an industry outsider's perspective. The author explores a select number of small breweries from around the United States, covering their signature brews, histories, and what it took for them to claim their niches in the marketplace.
North Carolina Craft Brew and Breweries by Erik Lars Myers
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Boasting more craft breweries than any other state in the American South, North Carolina is the state of Southern beer.
In North Carolina Craft Beer & Breweries, Erik Lars Myers profiles over 50 brewpubs and breweries statewide, providing useful details like location and contact information, tour times and hours of operation, and the breweries¿ regular lineups of beers and seasonal releases. Myers relates each brewery's history and the vision of its founders. Most importantly, he shares its story, showing how it offers something different or unique. Sidebars about festivals, bottle shops, and other beer-related features like hop farms, cideries, and meaderies show how craft beer is a growing and thriving industry in North Carolina.
North Carolina Craft Beer & Breweries is an ideal introduction for people who are just learning about craft beer and a great resource for beer enthusiasts who want to get the most out of their local beer experience. The book contains bonuses like a glossary of beer-related terms, a beer-styles quick reference guide, and an introduction to craft beer and how it is made.
Also, check out Fermentation Sciences resources through our eBook platforms:
Taylor & Francis eBooks provides full text access to approximately 36,000 ebooks in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities, and social science. Unlimited user access and downloadable chapters (pdf) for off-line viewing.
From "Select your institution," choose "Institution not listed" and enter your App State e-mail, or log in with an existing account.
Online access to 30,000+ technical books, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths, and audio books from O'Reilly & Associates and other publishers.
Subjects covered: Business, Desktop and Web Applications, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development, Math & Science, Personal & Professional Development, Products, and Vendors. All O'Reilly eBooks are in the library catalog.
ACCESS NOTE: Access to O'Reilly is unlimited for all current Appalachian State University students, faculty and staff who enter their Appstate email address (in the format: firstname.lastname@example.org). You will be emailed an invitation to create a permanent O'Reilly account. Creating a permanent account is not required unless you want to use personalized features or the smart phone app version.