A great deal of high-quality research in the mathematical sciences is available on the Internet at large. This section lists several online repositories of consistently high-quality material. However, a caveat is in order. Although each of these online repositories provides a great deal of useful information, each repository relies on its own standards and mechanisms for ensuring the quality of its holdings. As in any data collection service, then, readers are well advised to read and understand each repository's rationale for collection maintenance.
arXiv.org: Maintained by Cornell University, arXiv.org provides access to approximately 350,000 e-prints in fields such as physics, mathematics, computer science, and computational biology.
citeseer: A digital library focusing primarily on computer science (as well as a good deal of applied mathematics and statistics). Originally developed at NEC Research, Citeseer is now housed at Penn State University. In addition to full-text versions of papers, Citeseer maintains databases on patterns of citation among papers and authors.
Selected mathematical websites and sites of mathematical organizations
Math Forum: From Drexel University, Math Forum provides access to a wide range of information on math education. Its collection is especially strong in matters of mathematical pedagogy, including software, problem sets, and articles devoted to teaching math.
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive: From the University of St.Andrews (Scotland). Contains biographies of famous mathematicians, as well as interactive collections of maps, timelines, and significant mathematical curves.