Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Military Science and Leadership (ROTC): App ROTC Archives

App State ROTC Archival Collections

Our Archival Collections on the Scabbard and Blade, Commandos, and Pershing Rifles are accessible digitally by searching through our yearbook collection (The Rhododendron), accessible through DigitalNC. Yearbooks from 1922-2006 have been digitized. Additional, print copies of the yearbooks are available to view in our Appalachian Collection on University Archives in Belk Library and Information Commons (4th floor). To book an appointment, please visit this site

Mountaineer Battalion History

The Department of Military Science and Leadership digitized archives are to be found here. Additional images may be accessible through The Rhododendron.

*Keyword searching through The Rhododendron is recommended, for instance, "Scabbard" will take you to the pages in the yearbook that may have Scabbard and Blade images. 

National Society of Pershing Rifles

The Pershing Rifles Company at Appalachian State (Company M, 4th Regiment), was organized and chartered in 1969.

Pershing Rifles Company M-4 has, and still is, leading the way. Every year, a National Competition (NATCON) is held where companies from around the country compete for trophies. Currently, Appalachian State University has the highest overall NATCON wins with 13 national titles. Practices include elements such as drill and ceremony, exhibition drill, color guard, and assembly/disassembly of the M1903 Springfield. Appalachian State University always stands apart from the rest with our 'dress black' uniform while competing.

 

“Pershing Rifles, 1986,” Appalachian State University Libraries Digital Collections, accessed July 22, 2022, https://omeka.library.appstate.edu/items/show/11852.

Scabbard and Blade

The Rhododendron [1972], Appalachian State University

National Society of Scabbard and Blade - F Company, 17th Regiment

Scabbard and Blade is a national honors society, recognized by Army, Navy and Air Force ROTC, as well as service academies. Scabbard and Blade strive to encourage cadets to maintain a high academic standard in addition to their normal course of military and academic study.

Scabbard and Blade is a joint service honor society that unites cadets and midshipmen from all over the country in military excellence. The society strives to better these cadets and midshipmen as future officers and to strengthen the joint service relationship through service to the community and leadership opportunities.

Appalachian Commandos

The Rhododendron [1975], Appalachian State University

ASU Commandos

The history of American special operation forces is a long and colorful saga of courage, daring and outstanding leadership.  It is a story of men whose skills in the art of fighting have seldom been surpassed. As early as 1670, a special class of men ranged the American frontier, protecting settlers. The Commando Squadron strives to exemplify the qualities and values exhibited by these individuals.
     The Commandos are dedicated to the preservation and emulation of the ideals that have made the Army Special Operations Forces the world’s premier fighting force.
     The ASU Mountaineer Commando Squadron has its roots with the Pershing Rifles.  The Club was formed in 1972 as an off-shoot of the Pershing Rifles to focus more on tactical and individual training.  The organization has undergone several changes throughout the years as the training focus shifted.  In the fall of 2001, the unit was reorganized as a Squadron and re-designated as the ASU Mountaineer Commando Squadron.  Along with the reorganization, the Commando black shoulder cord was authorized for wear by current and active Commando members with the Class A uniform on 10 December 2001.

 

Oral Histories

Appalachian State University American Military History Course Veterans Oral History Project

Each semester, the students of the American Military History Course at Appalachian State University conduct interviews with military veterans and record their military experiences in order to create an archive of oral history interviews that are publicly accessible to researchers. The oral histories are permanently available in the Appalachian State University Special Collections. The project is supervised by Dr. Judkin Browning, Associate Professor of History at Appalachian State University and all interviews are transcribed by the student interviewers. Copyright Notice: Copyright for the Veterans Oral History Project’s audio and transcripts is held by Appalachian State University. These materials are available for free personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that proper citation is used (e.g. Veterans Oral History Project, University Archives and Records, Special Collections, Appalachian State University, Boone, NC).

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Emma Sobczak Schell
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons, Room 146
Online Office Hours: Tuesdays 10am-12pm
https://appstate.zoom.us/j/8282626903
(828)262-6903