It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes articles, book reviews, and images from journals in the areas of art history, graphic arts, sculpture, interior design, photography, textiles, crafts, and architecture from 1929 to the present. Includes full text of selected journals since 1997.
Art Abstracts indexes over 400 English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes nearly 120 titles in full text.
Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, film, video, painting, photography, sculpture, textiles. Coverage: 1984-present
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume The Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years. Includes more than 20,000 artists biographies and thousands of images of painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, photography and the decorative arts. Also includes the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Covers every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
Alternate Name: Grove Dictionary of Art
The Research Advisory Program (RAP) provides one-on-one research assistance for students. Sessions are conducted in person, by phone, or online.
Now that you’ve found sources, you’ll need to evaluate them before committing to them, but this doesn’t have to be time consuming. Just ask yourself two questions: Is this source trustworthy? And is this source suitable? Not every suitable source is trustworthy, and not every trustworthy source is suitable.
Consider the following: will this source help me answer the research questions that I am posing in my project? Will it help me learn as much as I can about my topic? Will it help me write an interesting, convincing essay for my readers?
Determining Trustworthiness (or Credibility)
Trustworthiness of sources may not be as easy to determine, especially if you’re in a hurry, aren’t paying attention, or haven’t checked your own biases at the door. Pay attention to things like:
When the source was published or last updated - look for the most recent research on your topic but depending on the topic, it could be fine to use older material.
The degree of bias in the source - is the author making an attempt to stay objective and include various points of view or are they pushing a point of view for other reasons?
Whether or not the author supports what they’re saying with evidence - if the author is making lots of claims without citing them, consider looking for something else.(Source)